Bookworm – April Reading List

Leave a comment

May 3, 2017 by rachelcmann

Read and Recommend

A Closed and Common Orbit – Becky Chambers – I loved the first book, A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet and I was totally excited to get my hands on this sequel. Color me surprised when it is not a continuation of the first book in the traditional sense. Instead, it has alternating POV between two of the characters from the first book while they go on a journey. The book continues the theme of AI, accepting ‘other’ into society and finding a sense of self and purpose in the world. I couldn’t put it down and I can’t wait for more from this author.

Etched in Bone – Anne Bishop – I’ve been waiting for this book release forever. I can’t even tell you how good this series is. This book picks up where the last left off, and it’s so good. The citizens of this parallel world have been put in their place by the ancient ones who rule the land, and the aftermath is scary. But there’s a human tribe now that needs taking care of if they can follow the rules.

Furiously Happy – Jenny Lawson – Lawson is one of the premiere writers on topics like depression, anxiety, and mental illness. Her irreverent take on her life is often laugh-out-loud hilarious. It hits home, even if you don’t have depression, just how crazy life can be sometimes. Her husband and friends are supportive and understanding of her quirks in a way I think (and hope) everyone should be but rarely are.

Silver on the Road – Laura Anne Gilman – From the moment I read the book jacket I knew I wanted to read this western sci-fi tale of a young woman who becomes ‘The Devil’s Hand” in a barely settled territory. She is sent out on the road with a mentor to teach her the land outside of the tiny town she was raised in. Lessons are best learned first hand. The story ebbs and flows, never leaving the thread of understanding your world (and yourself) more deeply.

Read

Romeo and/or Juliet – Ryan North – This is a crazy cool ‘choose your own adventure’ style re-telling of Shakespeare’s classic. You can choose who to be and whether you want to hear the traditional language or current teen slang. It was a fun romp but I lost interest relatively quickly.

A Really Good Day – Ayelet Waldman – There is a growing movement around using LSD in super small doses to treat depression and anxiety. Waldman speaks openly and honestly about her history of mental illness and her experience with micro-dosing for 30 days. I found her account fascinating and well told. I recommend if depression or alternative treatment is something that interests you.

Prose and Cons – Amanda Flower – Super cute magical mystery! I actually read the second one (this one) first and it was delightful! Way heavier on the mystery than the magic but the characters are charming and the story has twists and turns. It’s set in a tiny village near Niagra Falls, where a young woman returns to take care of her grandmother and the bookshop that has been in her family for years. Of course, mystery and murder land in her lap. Despite the sheriff’s desire for our heroine to stay out of it, she can’t help but solve the case.

Where the Wild Things Bite – Molly Harper – I’ve said it before and I’m sure I’ll say it again, I love these books. These are just the perfect bite-sized escape for me. I love all the characters and the setting, even if the essential story is the same every time. Sign me up for more!

Once Broken Faith – Seanan Maguire – The October Daye series reminds of others long running series that have to keep upping the stakes and resurrecting characters to keep readers engaged. While I’m not always a fan of the soap opera storytelling model, these books are deeply engrossing and great stories.

You Are a Writer – Jeff Goins – I bought this cheap Kindle book in hopes of finding the magic well of writers confidence. Unfortunately, it was most full of regurgitated advice for writers, with a focus on article and blog writers. Not a bad book, but not worth the digital ink.

Otherworld Chills – Kelley Armstrong – I don’t know when this book came out or how I missed it, but I’ll devour any story in the Otherworld series. This set of short stories focuses mainly on the men of the series, in little origin stories. It’s a great read for fans of the series.

Crime and Poetry – Amanda Flower – Reading this after it’s sequel was a bit disorienting and it was also interesting. I think the author found the story more in the second book so I found this one a bit lacking.

Plaid and  Plagiarism – Molly MacRae – I guess I was in a mystery mood this month! Set in Scotland, a couple of older women buy a quaint bookstore and try to make a new life. Unfortunately, life has other plans, including vandalism, theft, secrets and murder! Through some sheer dumb luck and some sleuthing, they finally solve the case and live happily ever after (until the next book I assume).

 

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

