Bookworm – March Reading List

Leave a comment

April 6, 2017 by rachelcmann

Read and Recommend

Shutterbabe – Deborah Copaken Kogan – Recommended to me by a friend, this is an entertaining memoir about one of the first female photojournalists to go to war. Deborah is frank, funny, raw and real in her storytelling. Some of her tales seem beyond belief! The different parts of her life are well woven together and it’s a great read.518xdpoCmxL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

The Terranauts – TC Boyle – Picked up on a whim, I had a very hard time putting this down! A fictionalization of a BioDome like project, the book is told from three points of view in alternating chapters, each almost like a journal entry. The characters have unique voices and the novel moves briskly. There are truly unlikeable characteristics in these people, and yet you end up rooting for them anyway.

Touch – Claire North After reading another North novel recently I was excited to get my hands on another. And Touch did not disappoint. I couldn’t put it down! The story mixes elements of the paranormal but is about being human in a way I can’t describe. What if you could move your consciousness from one body to another with a simple touch? Whose life would you assume as your own? How long would you stay, knowing the body you’re in has a soul of it’s own that you are overriding? It’s creepy and cool and worth a read.

Read

Boss Fight – Annie Bellet – I’ve read a couple of these on my Kindle, they are very quick stories. Luckily they now come in hardback in a compilation. This ‘regular’ sized book holds three of the stories, which fly by. I like the main character but these books are just too short and I feel short changed.

Encrypted – Carolyn McCray – Sometimes you download free content onto your e-reader and you can’t wait to delete it. Sometimes you end up reading lots of pages of something you never would have found on your own. This first book in a series is the latter. A white-hat hacker is being tailed by the FBI, but when the rubber hits the road, who makes a better ‘good guy’ is up for debate. Fun book!

How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf – Molly Harper – As much as I love Harper and have been moving through her oeuvre, this one just didn’t do it for me! Maybe I’m team vampire but I’ll stick with the other series for now.

Mind Over Monsters – Jennifer Harlow – I thought this had a lot of potential, a young woman with psychokinesis is recruited into an X-Men school for the gifted type program and is pretty quickly sent into the field with a band of misfits. The book relies on a lot of its predecessors and so falls flat for me.

Ten Percent Happier – Dan Harris – This has been on my ‘should read because it’ll make me a better person’ list for a while now. Now that I’ve gotten around to it, I really enjoyed it! Meditation isn’t for everyone, but Harris approaches it with cynicism which I can appreciate. He does a great job of telling his own story without preaching. If you’ve ever been intrigued by ‘mindfulness’ or getting some mastery over the runaway train of thoughts in your head you might want to give this a try.

The Single Undead Mom’s Club – Molly Harper – Harper must rake it in with these sweet stories. I really enjoyed the twist in this book, a widowed single mom with cancer decides to be turned into a vampire so she can stay with her child. Risky sure, but worth it.

Touched – AJ Alto – This book is the first in the series but honestly feels like it’s missing a prequel. Marnie (our heroine) just got fired from the magical FBI and is back at home with her sire (she’s not a vampire but there’s some sort of relationship thing) but it seems the bad guys are still after her. There are love triangles and mysteries and lots of funny moments. I’ll definitely be reading the next one!

Magic or Madness – Justine Larbalestier – In an interesting twist of the ‘you’re magic and don’t know it’ genre, this book is set in Australia and really hammers home the whole ‘magic has a price’ concept. The discovery process for the protagonist is a lot of fun to read, even if it’s aimed at a younger audience.

 

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

