Bookworm- January Reading List 2017

1

February 1, 2017 by rachelcmann

Well, it’s 2017 and I need all the escapist entertainment I can get. With my digital and real life filled with bad news I mostly dove into familiar tales this month.

Read and Recommend

Dark Matter – Blake Crouch – Okay, so reading the book jacket on this I wasthe-universe-v2 kind of ‘meh’ and I picked it up right before bed thinking I would read a little and put it down…fast forward to 2 am when I finish it up and am obsessed with it. In fact, I didn’t stop reviewing it in my head for days afterwards. At its core, the book is about identity and what lengths you would go to in order to protect your family. The storytelling is great and the twists and turns are fantastic.

Read

Drink Deep – Chloe Neill – In the potentially never ending saga of the Chicagoland Vampires series, this book continues after the cliff hanger of the last book. This one ends with another big twist that is blowing my mind. That said, these are nutrion-free fluff that have to keep upping the stakes (no pun intended…teehee) in order to stay interesting. Not a bad thing, just something to keep in mind.

The Masked City – Genieve Cogman – As much as I enjoyed the first one in this series I found this follow up a little lackluster. I forced myself through the second half. In a move that seems predictable, the author separates the duo she spent the first book bringing together. Now with one of them kidnapped by an unknown enemy, the remaining hero has to risk it all to save them. So it was a bit predictable, and at the end of the day, the journey just wasn’t as much fun as I wanted it to be.

Smoke and Ashes – Tanya Huff – Sigh. There are only 3 of these and I really wish there were more. So much to enjoy here, from the quirky main character to the backdrop of a terrible vampire TV show. Huff has become one of my authors to watch (and to emulate). Basically anything she writes is something I’m going to seek out. The balance of depth and forward movement in the story is just so spot on.

Fortune’s Pawn – Rachel Bach – This book reminded me a lot of A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet which I loved so I loved this too! An ambitious mercenary takes a job on a notoriously dangerous ship. She quickly finds out that the universe holds more secrets than she realized. The aliens are cool, the technology is novel and there are elements of Pacific Rim and Firefly that are just fantastic for a nerd like me.

The President’s Vampire – Christopher Farnsworth – Another follow up to a first novel that I enjoyed that just didn’t do it for me. This book was harder to track with all the flashbacks and in general just not as much fun as the first one. I also started the third book but I think I’m done with the series. Bummer.

Charming – Elliott James – You know how sometimes you just see a cute cover and think ‘Why not?’ – well that’s what happened here. And you know what, sometimes those instincts are right! A totally unexpected telling of a princely character who has more than his fair share of demons and no princesses in sight. It’s got all the best elements of novels about cranky immortals and reluctant heroes.

Between the World and Me – Ta-Nahisi Coates – In my continued effort to stay woke, I’m reading at least one book in the realm of social justice each month. This month was a strong departure from last month’s Strangers In Their Own Land. For starters, the prose is less textbook and more poetry. In the end, I don’t think I’m the target audience. I found most of the book frustratingly one-sided, which to be fair, is the author’s prerogative. It is not written to offer answers, but it also doesn’t feel written to give a point of view, only to reinforce one. I was ultimately disappointed.

One thought on “Bookworm- January Reading List 2017

  1. […] Knight – Rachel Bach – The second in the series takes a bit of a dark turn but the writing is still solid and I devoured the story. It has a little […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

