Bookworm – July/August Reading List

1

September 5, 2016 by rachelcmann

Recommended

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J Maas – This begins like any other flighty teen fairy novel, a retelling of Beauty and the Beast almost, but something happens and it becomes more akin to Laurel K Hamiltons Merry Gentry series and it gets really hard to put down. By the end I was craving more. Yes, a lot of it is reminiscent of other books I’ve read, but this felt fresh and fun.

A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J Maas – The sequel to the previous book continues in the same vein. I will say this took a little time to engage with. The cliche’s seemed more obvious, the repeated themes more trite. I still enjoyed it, and recommend it, but it didn’t have the same feel as the first book. I also kept thinking these were teen oriented books (due to the young age of the main character) but they are definitely for adults!

The Rook – Daniel O’Malley – Hands down one of the most unique books I’ve read in a very 51fhamZLiXLlong time. It’s hard to even describe without giving it away, but it’s sort of like a secret secret agency where everyone has a single super power (some are awesome and some are ridiculous and useless). Our main character wakes up with no memory and discovers she belongs in this organization and now has to navigate. This book is soooo good!

Stilletto – Daniel O’Malley – So I immediately sought out the follow up. (And I’m hoping there’s a third soon!). This sequel follows two other people and switches between POVs. That’s not my favorite device but it works. This book continues the story and makes it even more intriguing. I can’t recommend these highly enough. I’m going to be talking about them for awhile!

God Save the Queen – Kate Locke – This was a fun random paperback I picked up. The general premise is that the Black Plague created a race of vampires in the upper classes in Britain. And now England is a whole different place. It’s fun and unique mythology and a quick read.

Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs – Molly Harper – This series was recommended to me and now I know why! It’s funny and irreverent and fun. When a girl gets turned into a vampire, she has to adjust her lifestyle, and she quickly gets sucked in to her new world (pun intended). I’ll be picking up the next in the series soon!

Sleeping Giants – Sylvain Neuvel – This is a very cool mix of spy novel and sci fi. It has elements I’ve seen before but there are quite a few fun twists and turns along the way. It’s written in an untraditional style so that each chapter is a transcript or journal entry. One of the people in the transcripts is never identified but he’s kind of like Deepthroat or something. The discovery of a giant alien robot that’s been scattered around the globe brings an interesting group of people together and their story, told through these transcripts is fascinating, if a little bit predictable.

Read

A Field Guide to Awkward Silences – Alexandra Petri – This is a fun autobiographical book of short stories. I really related to a lot of Petris experiences and she is quite funny. Not something I’d seek out again but I enjoyed it!

Crashed – Timothy Hallinan – This is a little bit of a fluff piece in my opinion. A PI who has some secret mind reading abilities takes on the case of woman who literally appears out of nowhere. It’s a cute and interesting time travel book but didn’t keep me engaged enough to want to read the next one.

Larkspur -Claudia Hall Christian – The literally never ending Denver Cereal series that I can’t stop reading! I mean, every single book is essentially the same where some evil relative is out to get one or more members of the family to destroy their lives. I mean these people are just constantly hunted down. Only start these if you’re interested in a soap opera in book form.

The Case of the Fickle Mermaid – PJ Brackston – This was a fun little jaunt. Hansel and Gretel have grown up and Gretel has a reputation as a detective! She takes a case of finding some mermaids that are scaring off sailors. The story is well paced and a quite entertaining mystery.

Illuminae – Amie Kaufman – As a device, I don’t know totally know how I feel about using non-linear prose. This book is a series of transcripts and journal entries in which you follow two young people who’s planet has been destroyed and they are among the few to be rescued. The story is eerily familiar to Battlestar Galactica but is an entertaining trip nonetheless.

Mastering My Mistakes in the Kitchen – Dana Cowin – More novel than cookbook, the food magazine editor uses her considerable influence to have celebrity chefs teach her their secrets. It’s a different take on good, cooking and how to learn something new.

Jinn and Juice – Nicole Peeler – I’m a big fan of the Tempest series so I had high hopes from this new series from Nicole Peeler. I was a little underwhelmed at first but the book picked up and I enjoyed the rest. I admire Peeler for her first person authenticity and funny quips. Very enjoyable.

Then I kind of went on a Sherlock binge…..

Mycroft Holmes -Kareem Abdul-Jabaar – In this side story about the less famous Holmes’ brother we are treated to a young Mycroft who is still full of hope and love. Rather than focusing on Sherlock this book is all about Mycroft and his adventure.

A Study in Charlotte – Britney Cavallaro – Sherlock goes teen! In this series descendants of Sherlock and Watson end up at the same high school and quickly follow their ancestors footsteps. The wrap up of the mystery rang a little hollow for me but I enjoyed it.

Lock and Mori – Heather Petty – Again, Sherlock (and Moriarty this time) are thrust into adolescence. Two misfits who find friendship together. This series is significantly more serious than the others but feels more robust than others I’ve read in this world.

Abandoned

The Sweet Spot – Christine Carter – I’m always on the lookout for a self-help book that will change my world. I had high hopes for this one, hoping to find a way to tap into my creativity at home and my flow at work. However, this book was mostly a rehash of several books I’ve already read including those by Gretchen Rubin and The Power of Habit. 

One thought on “Bookworm – July/August Reading List

  1. […] – Manuel Gonzalez – I had high hopes for this book, it seemed to have aspect of Rook that I was looking forward to. And it did, but I was left wanting at the end of the day. The story […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

