Bookworm – May/June Reading List

2

June 28, 2016 by rachelcmann

Whoops! What the hell happened to the last couple of months?!?!! Here’s May and June together, I didn’t read as much as planned but this will still be long so buckle in!

Recommend

Sorcerer to the Crown – Zen Cho – This book was so good! It took me a little while to get 25855734into it, but once I did I couldn’t put it down. The story centers around a young free black man who is adopted by the head wizard of England, and a young orphan woman with power of her own. Set in misogynistic and racist Britain, the two main characters have incredible hurdles set in front of them as they work to save magic and each other. (how’s that for a tagline lol)

Menagerie – Rachel Vincent – In April I read a slew of books that highlighted how humans are awful. And while May and June didn’t have that theme this book falls firmly into that camp. Essentially set in an alternate present where supernatural creatures are exposed and then have all of their human rights stripped (because they’re not human see) a young woman discovers that she herself is not human and is arrested then sold to a traveling menagerie of supernatural creatures. The way the non-humans are treated is terrible, but also 1000% believable because that’s exactly how we would treat werewolves and mermaids and what not if we discovered they existed. It was compelling and interesting read to boot.

Read

Carter & Lovecraft – Johnathan L Howard – I really thought this was going to be a fluffy mashup book with mystery and sci-fi, I was so very wrong! This book is dark and mysterious and contains a lot of unexpected plot twists. It had a bit of a slow start, and then sucked me with it’s creepy mystery!

Silt, Gold Hill, Fairplay – Claudia Hall Christian – More and more of the Denver Cereal saga. These are seriously addictive, these poor people are just tortured over and over again! They are the literary equivalent of a daytime soap opera and I can’t stop.

The Tax Assassin – Claudia Hall Christian – This one is actually a spin off of Denver Cereal and it was remarkably less fraught with peril than the regular books. Which was a good thing! With a good hardy (hearty?) mystery!

Acceptance – Jeff Vandermeer – It took two whole months to read this. The third in the Southern Reach trilogy, this book is a whole other level of weird. First off, the point of view switches between three people, one of whom is written in second person which is so unusual that it took me a long while to figure out why those sections gave me such creeps! Because of that though, I had a harder than usual time staying focused. And since I don’t read too much at one time because it gives me nightmares it took me a long time to finish. ::shudder::

When Breath Becomes Air – Paul Kalanithi – This book is non-fiction, written by a young doctor who was dying of cancer. It is poignant and sweet and more about life than dying. Like so many memoirs from people who were taken in the prime of their lives it is a great reminder to not take life for granted, to seize opportunity and tell your loved ones how much they mean to you. It is also a tear jerker so have tissues handy!

No Ifs, Ands, or Bears – Celia Kyle – This is a fluff piece of a paranormal romance, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. What can I say? 😉

Yesterday’s Thief – Al Macy – Super interesting book about time travel, plus it’s set in San Francisco which always gives me a little thrill. Set in the near future (in date not technology) a PI who can read minds gets sucked into a case when a person shows up who clearly arrived from another time. The science is fun even if the story is a bit predictable.

Enemy – K Eason – This is hard to describe, though the book sucked me in and I had a hard time putting it down. Set in a medieval-esque winterscape with magic and gods and ghosts, two strangers have to rely on each other for survival. There’s nothing terribly unique or outstanding about this but it was compelling all the same.

Skyborn – David Dalglish – I’m surprised to find this isn’t categorized as YA as the central characters are 16 and idiotic. There is teenage angst to spare in this story about soldiers with mechanical angel wings and weird shadow government. I finished the book but almost out of a sense of obligation since the main characters made me want to smack them upside the head on multiple occasions.

2 thoughts on “Bookworm – May/June Reading List

  1. jonathan says:

    I’ve wanted to try Carter & Lovecraft, but my library doesn’t have it!

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

