TV Fan – New Shows Review

Leave a comment

February 8, 2016 by rachelcmann

DC’s Legends of Tomorrow – The third spinoff of Arrow mashes most of the guest heroes and villains of Arrow and The Flash. This group of misfits are plucked out of their timeline by a Time Master (Doctor Who rip off in more ways than one) to try and kill an immortal big baddie. The show is cheesier than it’s parents, a lot cheesier. But due to the ensemble nature of the cast you don’t have to put up with any particular brand of cheesiness for a long period of time. I honestly don’t know if I’ll keep watching but it’s holding my curiosity for now. Watch, with extremely large grain of salt.

The X-Files (Special Event) – I only have vague recollections of the original series but I was avatar_x-filesstill thrilled/nervous about its return. The first episode was intense and a bit worrying, but the third episode may be the best episode of television of the decade. If you’re a fan of the original you should enjoy this mini-series, and if you’re unfamiliar…well a little bit will be lost on you but you should still enjoy it. Watch.

Angie Tribeca – Ah man, I had such high hopes for this show. It’s a send up of buddy cops comedies and it pokes fun every possible trope out there. Unfortunately, to me at least, it was too much and trying too hard to be funny. And so it’s wasn’t really funny at all. It was predictable and heavy-handed. Pass.

Lucifer – Well, I’m in love with the devil. This show looks a bit ridiculous and tawdry from the promos, but it’s actually really clever and kind of fun. The basic premise is that Lucifer is taking a vacation from managing hell and in the process teams up with a cynical detective. She is immune to his brand of magic and they do make a good team even through he is infuriating. I’m loving it. Watch.

You, Me, and the Apocalypse – The cast of this is really what drew me to this weird show. There is an asteroid headed to Earth and chaos reigns. The show (for now) is focused on three groups of people. The Devil’s Advocate in the Vatican, two escaped convicts in southwestern United States and two nobodies in England. The show is a little hard to follow and it’s hard to see the longevity options but it’s entertaining. So Watch with reservations.

 

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

