TV Fan – New Shows Review

Leave a comment

January 18, 2016 by rachelcmann

Childhood’s End – This miniseries is very compelling TV. Aliens come to Earth and basically use their power to ‘fix’ humanity. Curing disease, ending war, etc. But there is a cost and the plot thickens more and more. Can’t say too much without giving away spoilers but suffice it to say that all is not what it seems. Warning, this show is de-press-ing. But Watch it anyway.

The Shannara Chronicles – I haven’t read the Terry Brooks series so I don’t have anything to compare it to in terms of accuracy, but I believe this isn’t following the books exactly. The show is on MTV which is a bit odd for them, but hey, you gotta evolve! The show reminds me a bit of Lord of the Rings and the happier bits with elves. Were there any happy bits with elves? The show is about an elfin princess who competes to become a warrior and starts having apocalyptic dreams. Which almost immediately start coming true. Initiate quest. It’s a bit formulaic for my taste when there are other things on that I want to spend time on. Pass, but it’s a close call.

Colony – Well there’s definitely a lot of suspense building in this sci-fi thriller. There’s a ‘big bad’ who is pretty undefined and therefore terrifying, who has walled off inland LA and instituted martial law. So no money, lots of law enforcement, bicycles, resentment – the usual. The show centers on a couple who have three children, one of whom was separated when the invaders arrived. Their quest to get him back is the central driver, but there’s lots of intrigue and mystery around that. I have a sneaking suspicion this show will get too melodramatic and convoluted for me, but for now I say Watch.

The Magicians – I’m so in! I haven’t read the books actually, just never got around to it, so I Magicians_hero_101Acan’t tell you if it sticks closely to the way the books are written. I’m loving the show though. It’s angsty and highly stylized and I’m totally loving it. It could be cheesy, and it is a little bit, but I don’t care. I’m not sure a show about magic can be done without a little bit of cheese! The show is about young people at a university for Magicians. And something shady is happening. Watch.

Cooper Barrett’s Guide to Surviving Life – By all rights this show should be a lot more obnoxious than it is. I think it will turn a lot of people off, but I really like the cast and it’s kind of endearing.  Well, it’s endearing if you think earnest white bro stories are endearing. It’s got a fourth wall break where Cooper is giving the view a ‘lesson’ each episode which feels like it’s been done before (although the name of any shows that have done it are escaping me, maybe because they were cancelled). Watch for the eye candy.

Recovery Road – ABC Family is rebranding as Freeform and as such they are starting to come out with some new content that is a little (teeny tiny) bit more risqué. This show is about young woman who has an alcohol problem and is sent to rehab. A sober living house with a mix of adults and younger people is her home for the next 90 days. In the end the show is a bit schmaltzy and still too preachy for my taste but I could see it catching on. Pass.

Shades of Blue –  Jennifer Lopez’s cop drama was highly anticipated, and it’s gotten good reviews so far. But I didn’t really enjoy it. A show about corrupt cops was never going to become my favorite thing, but this fell flat in other ways. There wasn’t enough back story in the pilot for me to understand why Lopez had become corrupt in the first place and her reasons for continuing as the plot thickened. Pass.

Shadowhunters – Yet another adaptation of a book! These from The Mortal Instruments series. The first book was turned into a movie a few years ago but didn’t do well enough to make another movie. Apparently though it’s still promising enough to make a TV series. I never read the books and didn’t like the movie but the show is good enough (although supes melodramatic) that I’ll keep watching for a little while. The show is essentially about a young woman who comes into her demon hunting powers at 18 and is suddenly thrust into a ‘supernatural fight club’ with competing factions and lots of beautiful people. Watch, for now.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

