TV Fan – New Shows Review

Leave a comment

January 11, 2016 by rachelcmann

Some of these are quite old at this point – sorry about that!

Supergirl – Superman isn’t a canon I get into much, just doesn’t do it for me. And I’ve had reservations about the Supergirl show since it was announced. But I dutifully watched the pilot, and to be fair, I did enjoy it. I like most of the actors and their roles, and I like the modern take on media. But I can’t bring myself to watch anymore episodes. Pass.

Agent X – Burn Notice meets National Treasure meets Bourne Identity. This one is a lot of fun. It’s completely over the top spy stuff, which I thoroughly enjoy. I can’t say too much about it because it’ll spoilt it but if you like Tom Clancy and James Bond you’ll get a kick out of this. Watch.

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend – I hated the premise of this but I heard good things so I decided to give it a try. Premise being, a woman with issues bumps into a high school boyfriend one day and decides to move across country to try to be with him. <– crazy. But the show is also a musical. It is funny and has some poignant social commentary but it is way out there. I almost expect the camera to pan out and show us that all this is actually happening in her head and she’s in an asylum. Pass.

Into the Badlands – So, this is kind of a dystopian ninja show. That’s as close as I can get. It’s very Kill Bill esque and since violence and gore aren’t really my thing I won’t keep watching it. I think it has potential for fans of the genre if they can stomach the tropes. Pass.

The Expanse – I didn’t get all the way through the pilot but I plan to come back to this and binge watch. It’s been compared to Battlestar Galactica and is one of the shows where the complex plot requires focus and attention which I don’t have at the moment. Watch later.

Marvel’s Jessica Jones – So yeah, I’m a nerd, but superheroes/comic books are not my first choice drug. That said, I love The Avengers and will watch just about anything in the genre. I didn’t really like Daredevil from Netflix but I was 100% onboard with a) female centric hero b) David Tennant. And I actually am totally into it. Couple of thoughts: Carrie Ann Moss looks like the dark twin to Robin Wright in House of Cards. How much do you want to bet they have the same stylist? There are a lot of great moments for me as a general genre fan – if you are a specific fan I’m sure you’re dying. Tennant is amazing in this, just so so good. And I have to give it up for the entire cast to be honest. So well done. Binge Watch.

 

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

