Bookworm – November Reading List

1

November 29, 2015 by rachelcmann

Blame it on Netflix, this was a super light reading month for me! And more than half of these were read over the Thanksgiving holiday. But sometimes that’s the way the cookie crumbles.

Read and Recommend!

The Masked Truth – Kelley Armstrong – A book I couldn’t put down! Another departure for Armstrong, this book doesn’t have any supernatural elements, not even a hint. It does have non-stop action and intrigue. And a darn good depiction of mental illness. It’s about a young woman who happens to witness a murder, and then is held hostage when at a retreat for troubled teens. I read it all in one sitting!

Uprooted – Naomi Novak – This may be considered YA but it gets a little racy and a little dark so it’s definitely for older YA. With that out of the way – read this book if you are at all into the fantasy genre. The protagonist is perfectly imperfect (if a bit whiny in parts) and the story is so unique and fantastical. I was totally taken in after a little bit of a slow start. It’s about a young woman who is taken by the local wizard as his servant (it’s unclear at first) but soon discovers she has power of her own. The fight against the big bad, the friendships and final battle for peace over war…::sigh::

Read

The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up – Marie Kondo – I’m not a huge collector of things, but I’m not the neatest person in the world either. So yet another book about being organized and getting rid of things wasn’t at the top of my list, but someone gave it to me to read so read it I did. And I actually agree with KonMari on a lot of things. It is easier to purge all at once (I do it every time I move which is about once a year). You should release sentiment in favor of things you love. But then she started talking to her objects like they were people and thanking her purse for carrying her things all day and I started to doubt her sanity. If you need help cleaning out your closet or de-cluttering your house, this book might help you. Otherwise, it’s a fun glimpse into someone who’s gone round the bend.

Untold – Sarah Rees Brennan – I devoured Unspoken last month and was really looking forward to the next book in the series. But honestly, this one didn’t capture me as much. The same characters are continuing their fight of good wizards vs. evil wizards and the love triangle that is unescapable in all teen romances continues to get more complicated. I’m looking forward to the third book though because I want to recapture that ‘can’t put it down’ feeling.

Sea of Shadows – Kelley Armstrong – I wish I could say that Armstrong could do no wrong, but after her Women of the Otherworld series, I haven’t been captured by any of her new series. This starter is in the YA section, and certainly has a unique world. Kind of a medieval with magic base, but with a strange mystical forest and young women with special power- both magical and political. All in all, it sort of feels like a prologue was missing. I got thrown into this world too quickly and it took me quite a long time to get into the rhythm of the book.

Santa Olivia – Jacquiline CareyCarey is such a hit or miss author for me. I love the Agents of Hel series and can’t stand the Kushiel’s Dart series. This one fell somewhere in the middle for me. It’s very light on the scifi/fantasy, it’s almost an afterthought and certainly not central to the plot. Essentially about a young woman with preternatural powers in a post-plague border town that’s controlled by the army, she grows up to avenge her family, find love and overthrow the government. Some of that is an exaggeration. The pace was a bit slow for me until the last third and while it kept my interest enough to keep going, I certainly wasn’t excited to get back to it.

The Book of Speculation – Erika Swyler – Well. This is one of those that sort of defies explanation or summary. It is incredibly compelling and full of sorrow and regret. Not exactly light reading. Essentially, it’s about family- told in alternating chapter between past and present- who is plagued by tragedy. Without giving too much away, and it because it’s near impossible to describe, this book is for a quiet moment with cocoa and handy Kleenex.

Demon’s Lexicon – Sarah Rees Brennan – I’ll give this book credit for going in a completely unexpected direction, but in some ways I had to force my way through it. The main character isn’t particularly sympathetic with a chip on his shoulder the size of the Washington Monument, and his supporting characters aren’t developed enough to make them very engaging. I think if I had read this at a different time I might have gotten more into it, but it just fell sort of flat.

Abandoned

Station Eleven -Emily St John Mandel – I’ve heard many good things about this but I couldn’t really find the rhythm. I guess it’s about a troupe of traveling performers after a plague wipes out the population. So in that way, it didn’t feel too different from the many dystopian future things out there right now. And because it didn’t feel fresh or unique, I put it down.

One thought on “Bookworm – November Reading List

  1. […] Changing Magic of Tidying Up not quite died down, it’s a perfect opportunity for a parody. I found KonMari to be more obnoxious than sagacious but that’s just me. Imagine my delight at finding a book […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

