Bookworm – August Reading List

1

August 31, 2015 by rachelcmann

Read!

The Crossroads of Should and Must: Find and Follow Your Passion – Elle Luna – I might be going on a self help binge here. I’ve been feeling restless and itching for a change, growth, greatness. This book is half illustration and half prose. It doesn’t really say anything new but it actually does something that you don’t see often, which is directly address the issues (aka excuses) that people use to avoid chasing their dreams. It’s definitely lit a fire under my a**!Should-Must-so-now-what

Codex Born: (Magic Ex Libris: Book Two) – Jim Hines – After the hilarious Libriomancer last month I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the next one! The second book isn’t quite as funny as the first but continues to be highly entertaining. I get a little kick every time he pulls something out of a book that I’ve read or really like. I highly recommend these if you like some humor in your over-the-top fantasy books.

Lost Library Collection: Books 1-3Kate Baray – Although I read all three of these Kindle books back to back, they remind of junk food. It’s filling in the moment but a little while later you’re hungry again. It’s fluff. Which has it’s time and place, namely when I keep putting down books because they just aren’t holding my interest. Anyway- these are about a woman who gets sent a magic book and then gets sucked into a world of witches and werewolves. It is predictable but still enjoyable.

The Last Knight (Knight and Rogue)Hilari Bell – This tale is cute. A first hand account of the last squire to the last knight of the realm, their adventures are a tad ridiculous but oddly relatable. It’s an easy quick read.

The Poison Throne (The Moorehawke Trilogy)– Celine Kiernan – It took me awhile to get into this and I feel like I kind of wanted the story to be told by someone else. The viewpoint of a young girl returned to her homeland to find it utterly changed wasn’t bad persay, but the young men in the story were more interesting. I can see the appeal of this story but I sort of had to slog through it.

Unnatural Acts (Dan Shamble Zombie P. I.) – Kevin J. Anderson – The second in the series, these detective novels have a nice twist as the detective in question is a zombie. This was a quick read without much meat on it though. As much as I enjoyed the first one, this one fell a little flat for me.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams – Believe it or not I had never actually read this book. And I think if I had never seen the movie it would have been harder for me to get into. There’s just so much happening! It’s funny, it’s irreverent, it’s just so right in so many ways. But especially because I’m a fan of the film, I could enjoy it more. Kind of backwards I know!

Without Their Permission: How the 21st Century Will Be Made, Not Managed – Alexis Ohanian – As one of the founders of one of the most disruptive websites, this book was very interesting. It’s also very funny. I am a very casual redditor but I enjoyed learning more about it’s origins and about Ohanian’s accidental rise to entrepreneurship. He has a lot of good advice (most of which boils down to – just do it already) and some thought provoking ideas on how to make your mark.

The Utterly Uninteresting and Unadventurous Tales of Fred, the Vampire Accountant – Drew Hayes – I gotta give credit here to the author who instead of trying to tell a narrative tale and draw this out, instead gave us 5 or so vignettes when all the interesting stuff happened. Other authors may have made each of these events it’s own short book (and raked in the $$) but Hayes allows the reader to enjoy the action sequences without needless filler. This book is funny and to the point. Something we could all use a little more of I think.

Abandoned

There was a bunch of things that I just couldn’t get into this month :/

The Madman’s Daughter – Megan Shepherd – I got as far as vivisection.

The Goblin Emperor – Katherine Addison – It sort of felt like it was trying too hard. The cousin didn’t need to speak ‘old-timey’ for us to be placed in a medieval world. And since in the first few pages half the characters were assholes I just didn’t feel the need to keep going.

The Galaxy Game – Karen Lord – Too many new ideas/phrases/words to grasp too early on. I think there’s a threshold of new concepts in world building that writers need to pay attention to. If you overwhelm the reader with too much that’s unfamiliar they’ll lose the thread of your characters and plot because they’re confused by the money or the weather or whatever.

Household Gods – Judith Tarr – First off, the book is pretty big and the font is tiny. Secondly, after five pages describing 15 minutes of getting up and getting kids ready for school I decided I was out.

The Gone-Away World – Nick Harkaway – The write up on the cover looks so interesting but when it came to the reading of the text, it was just so overwritten. Maybe it settles at some point but I just couldn’t get into it in time to get very far.

Falling Kingdoms – Morgan Rhodes – I read about half of this before I realized that while I was reading it, I was retaining nothing. So I just gave up- sorry folks.

One thought on “Bookworm – August Reading List

  1. […] (Magic Ex Libris) – Jim Hines – I enjoyed the first books in this series so much that I was shocked when I started this book and had a hard time getting into it. For […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

