Bookworm – Statistics are Fun!

1

July 6, 2015 by rachelcmann

This year I wanted to be a little more serious about my reading, not so much in the type of content (c’mon!) but understanding exactly how much I was reading. It’s easy to say I read fast and that I read a lot, but what does that mean in terms of numbers?

So I started a new tab on my massive to-be-read list (223 titles long at the time of writing) and as I finished them I moved them over to the new tab and added the month I read them and their genre. I also added in anything else I happened to read, like all those free books on my Kindle!

Here are my stats for the first half of 2015

75    – total books read

12.5  – average books per month

March and May are tied for lowest number of books read – 10 each. June had the highest with 17 (which frankly I’m still surprised about).

Genre Breakdown

Shocking no one- most of what I read is SciFi/Fantasy (SF=48.1%) but I’m surprised to see that not NonFiction has such a presence, almost equal to YA SciFi.

Screenshot 2015-06-29 19.03.37

This was/is mostly just a fun and easy data experiment for me, something to help me quantify what I’m doing. If this is indicative of normal I’ll read around 130 books this year. Which is nothing to sneeze at. And if 17% are NonFiction- that’s 22 books that most people would consider ‘worthy’ and that I can use to educate and improve myself in between all the fun silly books I like to read.

Visit your local library folks and get reading!

 

One thought on “Bookworm – Statistics are Fun!

  1. […] was the first year that I really kept track of my reading. I reported on the first part of the year back in July and now that the year is done I’m pleased to report on the entire year. I made a pretty […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

