TV Fan – New Shows Review

Leave a comment

June 8, 2015 by rachelcmann

Stitchers – This is a high concept sci-fi show from ABC Family. It’s also a who’s who of former Syfy shows (this is not a complaint). The main character (Kirstin) is a PhD student and has some sort of social interaction disorder as well as something that sounds made up “temporal dysplasia” where she can’t tell how much time has passed (sort of). So she gets picked up by a shadowy agency who wants to use her special brain dysfunction to their advantage. I love the deep underground science lab – very Fringe and I would love to be in their props department. The show kind of reminds me of Sliders and other pseudo-scientific shows about changing the future. But I’m going to keep watching for a little while at least because I like the witty banter and it’s sort of fun.

The Whispers – There’s a lot happening here. An imaginary ‘friend’ is convincing kids to do some screwed up things to their parents. A six-year-old kills her mom, and it’s not really an accident so the FBI is called in (seems like overkill but the dad is nuclear so it becomes a big deal). There’s a mysterious plane crash in the desert and amnesic turns up in the hospital who is presumably connected to all this. And the kids are creepy and…yeah. I’ll give this another couple of episodes to find its feet but it may have bitten off more than it can chew.

UnREAL – Fifteen seconds in and I’m already in love with this show. It’s set behind the

TV STILL -- DO NOT PURGE -- UnREAL  (L to R) Shiri Appleby (ìRachelî) and Josh Kelly (ìJeremyî) star in Lifetimeís all-new drama UnREAL premiering, Monday, June 1 at 10pm ET/PT on Lifetime. Photo by James Dittiger Copyright 2015

scenes of a reality dating show, following a lead producer (Shiri Appleby) who has a history of crazy. The whole thing is ridiculous and fantastic! It does get a little dark and twisty but I’m still In Love.

Mr. Robot – This is a sort of gritty show about a hacker. It’s got elements of The Adjustment Bureau in that there’s a shadow government secretly controlling all of us. And some poor schmuck gets caught up in their web. Remarkably I actually like Christian Slater but I don’t like that he’s stuck playing the same guy. I didn’t get through the whole pilot, it’s a bit dense and slow for my taste but I can see it taking off.

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell – I’ve actually never read the book (I think I started it once and couldn’t get into it) but sometimes that’s a blessing. Some books don’t grab you but the live action can. So here we go – It’s 1806 and magic has ceased working in England until a mysterious character shows up. I only made it about half way through the first episode, it’s just too slow and too disjointed for me.

Proof – I ❤ Jennifer Beals and I like shows about powerful unapologetic women. This show is about a dying billionaire who wants proof of the afterlife so he hires brash neurosurgeon (Beals) to do the research. She is a super skeptic even after a near-death experience of her own where she thought she saw her deceased son. She has a huge chip on her shoulder but I kind of like that about her. Watch for now!

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

