Bookworm – March Reading List

Leave a comment

April 6, 2015 by rachelcmann

Read!

Celia’s Puppies – Claudia Hall Christian – I don’t know what it is about this author but I can’t put her books down. I’m still obsessed with The Fey series and her other series (of which this is book 2) is almost as compelling. And I can’t even really begin to summarize because it’s ridiculous. I will say that there are a few too many people to try and keep track of here so I’m starting to get a little lost but we’ll see how book 3 goes.download

Cascade – Claudia Hall Christian No different than the others, I can’t help but get sucked into these crazy ridiculous plots and subplots. All my future Amazon credits are going to go to these stupid books!

The River of No Return – Bee Ridgway A lot of this reminds me of Kage Baker’s Company series. Time travellers who can only go forward, monitored by a massive and mysterious oversight government, but there’s secrets among secrets here. This doesn’t have the same tech element that Company books do, and this is much more about one man and one woman who can’t help but be in love. While I definitely liked this book, the love story felt…well either the love story could have happened without the time travel or the time travel could have happened without the love story. The two threads were not really dependent on each other. Which left it a little lacking in my opinion. But still, great story telling, very unique and worth a read if this is your kind of thing.

Tubes – Andrew Blum When you connect to Internet what exactly are your connecting to? I mean, like where do the bits go in physical space. Turns out there’s a lot more physical presence to the Internet then we think, and while the wires overhead or under our feet may carry electricity and phone calls, they also carry a whole lot of data. I admittedly started skimming towards the end but it was a really interesting look at how our society depends on some plastic and copper in a warehouse somewhere.

Year Zero – Rob Reid What a fun book! It’s a sci-fi comedy that really well done and those are hard to come by. The basic premise is that aliens all over the universe LOVE human music and therefore owe us all the money in the universe for pirating it over the years. Hijinks ensue. I’ll have to look out for other things by this author because this was a lot of fun.

The Wisdom of Psychopaths: What Saints, Spies, and Serial Killers Can Teach Us About Success – Kevin Dutton – This book is not light reading. Like, you may need a dictionary and an advanced college course in psychology to really get into the meat of it. That aside, I really enjoyed learning about how psychopathy has positive evolutionary potential. Like most things, it’s a double-edged sword and you can have too much of a good thing.

Mistborn – Brian Sanderson – The dude is not concise or succinct, but somehow it doesn’t

How cool is this fan art? by Marc Simonetti via deviantart

How cool is this fan art? by Marc Simonetti via deviantart

feel drawn out either. The mythology is truly unique to him, though between this and The Way of Kings there are similarities. There is also a similar theme of oppression and overthrowing the corrupt monarch. I’m actually having a hard time figuring out why the book is so compelling. The characters aren’t particularly wonderful (or terrible) and the story is interesting but not crazy. It’s like a bag of chips that you don’t mean to eat all of but quickly find yourself at the bottom of the bag, empty calories.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman Like most sci-fi fans I like Neil Gaiman but it occurred to me reading this that I haven’t actually read many of his works. I never finished Ansazi Boys and I’ve only heard Neverwhere. I did enjoy Good Omens but that was co-authored so… Gaiman has a unique writing style, one that I think lends itself to film and TV more so than novels. This book was unique, quite unlike anything else, but basically an elongated short story. I didn’t love it the way I expected to I guess, and at the end of the day that’s kind of disappointing.

The Forever Girl – Rebecca Hamilton – This is kind of a fluff piece but has some interesting mythology, blending vampires along with other supernatural creatures and tying in reincarnation of a sort. My problem with the protagonist is that she’s pretty whiny and helpless until the last few pages. I don’t mind gals needing to have a journey and find their strength but c’mon.

Adventurers Wanted: Slathbog’s Gold – M.L. Forman – This is essentially a poor man’s version of The Hobbit, but it also does a good job of poking fun at the genre. I wouldn’t consider this an adult book (I’m not sure why it isn’t in the YA section of my library) and it’s a super quick read. Essentially a young man finds himself drawn into a magical world and goes on a quest to slay a dragon. There’s not a lot else. But sometimes that’s okay. 

Unfinished

I kind of overdid it on non-fiction books this month…

This Will Make You Smarter: New Scientific Concepts to Improve Your Thinking – John Brockman – Super interesting collection of short (like 1-2 pages) essays on the scientific concepts that should *hypothetically* make you a more well rounded contributing member of society.

The Riddle of the Labyrinth – Margalit Fox – Linear B is one of those things that you hear about now and again that seems like a black box of mystery. An ancient writing system that was decoded after decades of work. This book is split into three parts, the discoverer, the researcher and the eventual successful decoder. I got about halfway through but the writing got a bit repetitive so I gave it up.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

