Movie Lover – Into the Woods, Knightsman, Mockingjay Part I

Leave a comment

March 9, 2015 by rachelcmann

Into the Woods

I do really enjoy Sondheim and I’ve been looking forward to this movie for awhile. I admit to some anxiety about the integrity of making it a Disney movie but overall I think it was really well done. (Major points to the sound mixers too)

Anna Kendrick is usually flawless but I felt her acting was a tad uneven, there’s a spot where she is just phoning it in. Chris Pine is taking some more silly roles (see Stretch) and is over the top wonderful in this, but his best moments are his last lines. Meryl Strep is…well she’s Meryl Strep and she’s become one of those people where I see the actor instead of the character. Johnny Depp‘s turn as the wolf is blessedly short because it was oddly cat like. I did very much enjoy Emily Blunt and James Corden as the Baker and his wife. They are solid throughout.

I enjoyed it but not as much as I thought I would and I guess that’s disappointing.

Kingsman: The Secret Service

downloadOK – so Colin Firth (looking very trim) is a secret spy for a secret organization. One of his colleagues dies and they have to pick a replacement. His choice is the son of a former secret spy who has grown up on the wrong side of the tracks (do they say that in Britain or is there another phrase?). But the kid is smart and snarky and through the trials of trying to become a new secret spy dude learns all kinds of lessons blah blah blah. Meanwhile, Samuel L Jackson plays a billionaire who is planning to destroy the world (think Dr Evil with a hip hop wardrobe and a lisp) and his minion is a crazy paraplegic with knives for feet. Cool right? Crazy cool Bond tech, and their very own version of Q. Nice suits, cars and fancy houses to drool over. Impossible stunts and the requisite supply of bad guys who can’t hit the side of a barn.

While I really enjoyed the premise of this, I wasn’t expecting the very Sin City violent turn. While not overly gory (and at some points highly stylized) the excessive fight scenes were a bit much. But for those very violent and overly long violent scenes, this movie was a lot of fun. Furthermore, the cheap joke at the end with the Swedish princess (no spoilers!) was just icky (and awkward sitting between my parents at the movie theater).

I was expecting to enjoy it a lot more though, so I’m a bit disappointed overall. There are good moments, no doubt, but at the end it just left a bad taste in my mouth.

Mockingjay Part 1

It’s been a long while since I read the books and honestly I’m kind of over splitting movies into two (it feels too much like a ploy to get more money). But Mockingjay Part 1 was well done and left us at a good cliffhanger.

In this part, Katniss copes with being in District 13 and becoming the symbol of the revolution. She does her best speaking extemporaneously so a reality TV crew follows her into the ruins of other districts. But throughout these important propaganda activities, Katniss wants to rescue Peeta from the Capitol. He’s being used against her and she is distraught (rightfully so).

This girl has a love triangle for the ages, Gale basically defines friendzone. But Katniss is admirable in her determination and personally I relate to her lack of social graces. I’ll definitely watch the last installment but I’m not chomping at the bit.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

