Movie Lover – Jupiter Ascending

1

February 23, 2015 by rachelcmann

Yes this movie has received terrible horrible no good reviews. Yes expectations were high, but I do not care what everyone else says – I love this movie. I love it the way I love Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters. Every beautiful second is ridiculous and I love it. maxresdefault

A brief synopsis – Russian illegal immigrant Jupiter Jones (Mila Kunis) hates her life. Come to find out that she is the heir to an intergalactic throne. Her hunter come protector Caine Wise (Channing Tatum – the man is having a good year in my books!) takes her far away from her Earth-life into the clutches of three pretty awful siblings who all want Jupiter dead so they can take her inheritance. There’s a lot of fight scenes and cool space battles.

[Potential Spoilers Ahead]

I heart Mila Kunis. I heart Channing Tatum. I loved the effects and all the aliens (except for the a. Mexican wrestler masks dudes with no arms and b. the elephant faced ensign). I loved the tech and the story, as completely out of the bounds of reality that it was. Jones is totally naive and I kind of wanted her to come into her own badass-ery a little earlier. She is a pawn princess requiring an awful lot of heroic saving for a very long time. That said, she’s not dumb and she learns from her mistakes (barely).

On an unrelated note – I hope they revoke Eddie Redmayne‘s Oscar win based on his performance in this – it’s absurd, the most awful thing ever. And I also don’t get why they aged him up if they never needed to make him young. It was just awkward.

So yeah, I loved it and I’m not going to listen to anyone else. ::sticks out tongue::

 

One thought on “Movie Lover – Jupiter Ascending

  1. […] There is a style of book that is incredibly popular for young adult writers – that of the “Chosen One.” Our teenager is not-popular and probably only has one parent, but they’re smart and dreamy. One day an attractive member of the opposite sex (usually pretty heteronormative) swoops in and tells them that they are a special, unique snowflake who has a destiny to fulfill. Cue awkward bathing scene where the pubescent chosen one sees the object of their desire in a state of undress. Cue the daring rescue and the moment the chosen one comes into their power. The number of examples of this model are numerous, but the one that’s on my mind is Jupiter Ascending. […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

