Movie Lover – Boyhood

1

February 4, 2015 by rachelcmann

For the first 45 minutes of this movie I basically thought “This is why they don’t make movies about normal people.” Because nothing happens. When something does happen it’s incredibly predictable.boyhood

Other random thoughts – I’m old. The soundtrack on this is pretty cool. How did they write up the actor contracts on this- twelve years? sheesh! What if someone had died? Why are people such dicks to each other? This kid has almost no good male role models – is that normal?

Here’s my problem – there’s nothing interesting about this film except for the novelty of filming it in real time.The segues between the time jumps is pretty seamless. When the kid hits teenage years, ugh, child actors have their awkwardest moments recorded on film for all time. But it’s very long (over 3 hours) and nothing really ever happens – just like real life.

That, and childhood is terrible! It’s amazing any of us survive. You have no control over any aspect of your life, you are subjected to all kinds of embarrassing and awful experiences, and adults make absolutely no sense.

So no, I don’t think this deserves an Oscar, in any of the categories. It’s not a story. It’s a documentary, but one that’s made up. A really boring biography. It’s not profound, it doesn’t teach us anything about growing up or being young. It’s just a novel way to make a film (in a very singular way) and I don’t think it deserves all the awards.

One thought on “Movie Lover – Boyhood

  1. […] Boyhood – Everyone’s prediction but my least favorite. […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

