Movie Lover – The Skeleton Twins

Leave a comment

January 19, 2015 by rachelcmann

Like most independent films my major issue here was sound design, but I’ll push past it to get to the meat.

This movie was really very good, and a lot of that has to do with the comfort and chemistry between Kristen Wiig and Bill Hader. They are old friends and you could pick out the scenes where they were allowed to ad-lib and just be friends on screen. Those moments were magical.the-skeleton-twins-official-trailer-

The pair play estranged twins who reconnect after Milo (Hader) tries to commit suicide. Maggie (Wiig) has her own set of monument sized problems but despite their long time apart they are exactly what the other needs. They clearly haven’t had easy lives nor have they achieved what they dreamed of, but sometimes that doesn’t matter when you have your soulmate by your side.

I do feel like there are maybe some scenes that ended up on the cutting room floor that could have helped answer some of the niggling questions. First of which is why they hadn’t spoken for ten years, but there are hints to other things in their past that are unsatisfactorily explored (their fathers suicide, their hatred for their mother, Milo’s obsession with his former teacher, etc). There was also a little bit of confusion around their ages. Both actors are in their late 30s to early 40s but it seemed like the characters should be in their late 20s. It was a small thing but enough that my viewing party and I both commented. And it would have been easy enough to make them a little older in the story. So in my opinion the story could have done with a little more backstory.

All in all it was an enjoyable (melancholy) film and I’d recommend as long as someone is in the right mood.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

