TV Fan – 2014 Fall Pilot Season Part IV – The Late Edition

Leave a comment

December 29, 2014 by rachelcmann

Constantine – Am I the only drawing serious parallels to Supernatural? Except Constantine doesn’t have a dopey little brother to balance out his loner-go-to-hell-martyr attitude. So the guy is sort of magical in a way I don’t totally understand, or maybe he’s not and can just do spells, but the people around most definitely have a magical component including a wicked angel and someone who is pretty darn close to immortal. And then there’s the girl. The one who gets sucked into this crazy world with a minimum freakout when her understanding of reality is turned upside down. I like Supernatural better but I’ll watch it for now.

State of Affairs – I don’t know why everyone hate Katherine Heigl but I know that they State of Affairs - Season Pilotdo. So it’s with far more light and hope in my heart then most that I watched State of Affairs. Since I’m already head over heels in love with Madam Secretary I don’t know if I have room for another depressing political drama but we’ll give it a shot. It’s got elements of West Wing and Madam Secretary, and some Bad Judge thrown in for good measure. It’s totally watchable and enjoyable, provided you don’t have a preconceived hatred for the lead actress.

The Librarians – This is a spin off of sorts from the TV movies “The Librarian and the ….” with Noah Wyle. Filling out the cast and making it a monster of the week has thoroughly delighted me. Yes, it’s cheesy. Yes, it’s ridiculous. No, I don’t care.

Girlfriend’s Guide to Divorce – I honestly didn’t get through the pilot. I’m not the biggest Lisa Edelstein fan although I have no reason not to be and this was just a parade of tropes walking across my screen. It could have been an episode of Mistresses and I wouldn’t have known.

Ascension – There was a lot of buzz about this and it wasn’t until it arrived that I realized it was in the style of a mini-series rather than a traditional week to week show. Maybe the network was trying live binge watching of a sort? In any case, Ascension is a really interesting if a tad depressing story. We are watching a group of 600 astronauts on their trek to a habitable planet, they left during the Cold War and their sensibilities are a little retro, but some strange things are going on. And things just keep getting stranger. No spoilers but I hope there’s a second season!

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

