Movie Lover – Monuments Men

Leave a comment

November 24, 2014 by rachelcmann

The cast in this flick is reason enough to watch it. George Clooney, Matt Damon, Bill Murray, John Goodman, Cate Blanchett, I mean c’mon. But the reality is, they don’t spend a whole of time together. Most often the cast is broken into unlikely pairings and because there are so many people to follow you get a small glimpse into each experience.

Essentially the film (based on a true story) is about a special deployment of art experts who spent the end of WWII trying to recover all the art that the Nazi’s stole. Hitler was planning to build a giant museum to hold it all and basically didn’t care about provenance. A whole hell of a lot of art was destroyed and a good portion is still missing, but many beautiful and significant works were recovered by this little team of non-soldiers.

This movie is not as easy going as it looks in the previews. I cried my little heart out in one very poignant scene, and not one that anyone died during! But make no mistake, people do die and get hurt in war and they don’t shy from that. I can’t tell you how historically accurate this movie is but if it influences any young person to care about art history and the sacrifices that were made during the war then I think it has done it’s job admirably. And considering what a difficult job that is I’m giving Clooney all the props in the world for what I’m sure was an uphill battle to get this to the big screen with a big distribution.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

