Everything Else | TV Fan – Doctor Who – The New Doctor

Leave a comment

September 29, 2014 by rachelcmann

I’ve been avoiding talking about Peter Capaldi as the new Doctor with other Whovians. Mainly because I haven’t formed a strong opinion about him, and I realized today that therein lies the issue. I haven’t formed an opinion because I don’t care about him. With Tennant and Smith I was pretty quickly swept up in their charisma and world weary souls. Capaldi’s Doctor is cranky and frenetic in a way that seems senile rather than endearing. I haven’t been a fan of the casting since the announcement, and they only partially resolved my issue with the fact that Capaldi played a Pompeii citizen doomed to die when the Doctor and Donna visited. I’m glad they addressed it but sheesh.

I’m annoyed that he gets to have his Scots accent and Tennant didn’t. I think his suit is boring. I think he unwillingness to banter with Clara (whom I’ve never really liked) makes their interactions stiff and I am just not caring about what happens to the Doctor. So I guess I do have an opinion and that opinion is harumph.

Of course I’m still watching, and honestly the episode about invisible things (Listen) was one of the creepier and better ‘scary’ things I’ve seen on TV in a long time. But the other episodes have fallen a little bit flat for me. If Jenna Coleman departs before the next season I could see a different companion adding the extra spark I need to stay engaged with the Doctor’s fate, but for right now I feel like I’m watching out of obligation and that’s no fun at all.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

