Bookworm – Reading Binge

Leave a comment

February 21, 2014 by rachelcmann

I recently bought the bullet and bought a Kindle (the low tech version) because my old Nook was dying a painful death. I also finally went to my local library and got a library card. And then I went a little book crazy. We often talk about binging on tv shows, but books? Not as much. But there’s nothing else to call what I did with the Alex the Fey Books 1-5 (Dear Book God, please let there be a 6!) Amazon hooked me with the first one being free and then I stayed up way too late several nights in a row tearing through the rest of them. They aren’t my usual fare, more military black ops than sci-fi but they’ve got a supernatural twist that I’ve never seen before, and man, the suspense!

I also blitzed through a couple of cheap romance novels, picked up and put down (or deleted) a handful of other random books and scanned my way through Sheryl Sandberg’s Lean In (I’m pretty sure I’d read it already). I spent a number of hours today working on my Goodreads list (and by work on I mean print out and see which ones are at the library because I can’t keep track of over 450 titles on my phone). I’ve discovered that I am a bit less tolerant of bad writing than I used to be. I started a few recommended (and free) Kindle books and barely got through two virtual pages before I wrinkled my nose and moved on. I can binge on junk food and junk tv (Couples Therapy anyone?) but junk books? Well, I bet a lot of people would categorize my YA Fantasy books as junk books, but really, shouldn’t standard be higher for younger more impressionable readers? We force them to read classics like To Kill a Mockingbird and Catcher in the Rye, but shouldn’t their pleasure reading (please Book God, let children enjoy reading for pleasure) expand their horizons, force them to think and create a world in which they can imagine anything is possible. download

When I was a teenager I read so many books, fell in love with so many characters and stories, it has shaped my view on the world. I binged on series’ then and I still do now. And I’m still delighted and amazed when a book comes into my world and sticks with me. The Alex the Fey series is not The Bell Jar or even a Mercedes Lackey series, but I was hooked and I’m salivating for more. I’ve become greedy for my next fix of cannot-put-it-down. And I’m so happy about that.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

