TV Fan – Bitten

Leave a comment

January 14, 2014 by rachelcmann

Whenever a beloved book gets picked up to be made into a TV or a movie there’s always a small pit of dread in my stomach. When I heard that my favorite Sci-Fi series “Women of the Otherworld” by Kelley Armstrong was being made into a TV show on SyFy I was reluctantly optimistic. The books are a bit cheesy and that’s okay, but they are about strong paranormal women who manage to balance their human responsibilities and their otherworldly dramas.bitten02

So why did I hate almost every minute of the pilot episode? Let me count the ways.

1) The CGI wolves are AWFUL. Like the Twilight interns rejects.

2) We see at least three different men’s bare asses. Not that I’m complaining, and I’m all for equal nudity, but c’mon.

3) I hate the casting for Clay and Jeremy. HATE. Clay should be bulkier, more intimidating and more socially inept. Jeremy is supposed to be a scholar and a bit older, not a scruffy back woodsman. I’m okay with the rest of the casting, even with Elena actually, but I don’t like Clay or Jeremy at all.

4) I know there’s a lot to explain in a pilot, and I had the upper hand because I know what happens but even so I was a little confused. You have no idea why Elena doesn’t want to return to Stone Haven and hates Clay so much. No idea why she’s the only female werewolf. This is probably be revealed but I can see where it will lose viewers.

5) In the opening credits they just called it Kelley Armstrong’s “Otherworld” series. And that irritates me!

I’m going to keep watching the show, hoping that it gets a bit better, but it does not buoy my confidence in other adaptations.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

