Movie Lover – Girl Most Likely

1

January 8, 2014 by rachelcmann

I have sort of mixed feelings about this film. On the one hand, I wish Kristen Wiig all the success in the world, and think she deserves a chance at serious roles. On the other, I kind of wish this movie was better. Girl_Most_Likely_2

At it’s core it’s about Imogen Duncan (Wiig) and the day(s) that her life completely falls apart. Her boyfriend dumps her, she loses her job, her friends are a**holes and after faking a suicide she gets released into her estranged mother’s custody. Now normally I think Annette Benning can do no wrong, but I feel this particular character was laid on a little thick. Add on a socially awkward (Aspergers maybe?) brother and Darren Criss as the young interloper who’s renting her childhood room and Imogen has every right to fall to pieces. Which she does, but she’s also kind of jerk to everyone around her. Some of it deserved and some it not, but it makes it hard to feel sympathetic for her. I know what it’s like to feel like your world is crumbling around you and it can be hard to see anyone else as sympathetic but come on.

Through no direct action of her own, Imogen’s life starts to turn around. Her family rallies behind her and while she continues to push everyone away, they suck her into their own version of crazy. And in the end, she triumphs and has a better life than what she started with. But my big problem with that is that she did very little to affect that change. There a lot of bad reviews out there for this movie but I do think it has some redeeming qualities. I laughed aloud several times, Criss is adorable, Benning is near perfection and there are some nice twists and some even better cameos. So is it worth your time? I don’t know, maybe if there’s nothing else if on your docket and you want something a little quirky.

One thought on “Movie Lover – Girl Most Likely

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Good review Rachel. One of my contender’s for the worst of last year. Yeah, I know I sound like a mean a-hole, but this was just not funny to me, and a total waste of some grade-A talent.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

