Movie Lover – Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

1

January 3, 2014 by rachelcmann

I mainly watched this movie to see Nathan Fillion, and he’s pretty much the only entertaining part of the movie. I vaguely recall watching the first one and enjoying it, so I thought I’d give this one a shot. I don’t want to say it was a mistake but…

Percy and his co-horts are back at their god-children camp when two interesting things happen. (I’m using the word interesting pretty liberally here) One, Percy has a half brother of sorts who is Cyclops. Two, the tree force field that protects them is broken by Luke (who was the bad guy in the first movie) who uses a giant mechanical bull to cause a diversion. Everyone go on an epic quest to get the special item that will save the tree and defeat the bad guys!

Logan Lerman as Percy in The Lightning Thief (...

Logan Lerman as Percy in The Lightning Thief (2010) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The epic quest is kind of lame. They don’t “win” because they are particularly clever or athletic or good hearted. They just sort of win and then that’s the end. The bad guys (in addition to Luke) aren’t really that bad either, so my moral compass got a smidge confused. Although the movie leaves an opening for another film, I don’t have a great deal of faith that I’ll watch it even if it gets made. For one, the actors are getting too old to play teenagers, even if they are immortal.

There are some nice touching “family is important” moments. And since the film franchise is geared to people ::mumblecough:: years younger than I am I suppose it did an okay job at being scary without giving you nightmares. Still, I do feel a bit like I wasted a couple hours of my life watching this movie, and that’s not something I say very often. So boo to that 😦

One thought on “Movie Lover – Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

  1. Laurel says:

    The books are kind of fun, but I skipped the 2nd film as the first wasn’t that good.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

