New Year Resolutions!

Leave a comment

January 1, 2014 by rachelcmann

Is it New Year or New Year’s? New Year’s seems redundant somehow…maybe one of my resolutions should be about grammar…

Anyway, these resolutions are not necessarily geeky in nature, but I wanted to share because they each sort of relate to this blog and the community I’m building here. As a side note, I feel like resolutions shouldn’t be limited to a once-a-year commitment, and that once resolved, it’s okay to let go or change those promises made. Forgiving yourself can be incredibly hard and incredibly rewarding, so if you haven’t kept prior resolutions, make this the year that you find a way to let go of past failures and commit to future successes.

Okay, here we go!

1) Stop using text acronyms in real life. I keep thinking or saying “IRL” or “Obvi” and I hate it. It’s not okay even ironically.

2) Make more IRL (jk) friends/connections. Being back in my home town does not automatically equate to having a lot of people in my life. If anything, I have fewer here because so much time has passed since I lived here last. But I’ve been “home” for nearly a year and it’s time to start filling up my dance card. I don’t necessarily have a great plan on how to accomplish this, but some of the small steps include saying ‘Yes’ to every social invitation and joining some activities. (If anyone has some suggestions please send them my way.)

3) Get serious about writing again. While I was adrift last year (when I started this blog actually) I got serious about the craft of writing. Reading books, doing writing exercises, finishing a screenplay. Since this blog actually landed me my current job, it only seems right that I give it more attention and care, and give more of myself to my other projects as well.

So that’s it. There’s a really great book about resolution making (and keeping) called This Year I Will that I try to reference around New Years and my birthday. It has advice about what kinds of resolutions to make in order to achieve them among many other pearls of wisdom. What are your New Year Resolutions?

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

