Bookworm – November/December 2013

Leave a comment

December 27, 2013 by rachelcmann

A Cast of Stones – Patrick Carr – I’m not going to lie, this book starts a little slow. But I was assured it was it going to pick up and boy did it! The mythology in this series is really unique. It involves a Church that sounds an awful lot like our own Catholic church, but religion isn’t the focus of these stories. It’s about a young man who is incredibly down on his luck, looking at life through the bottom of a barrel, whose life is changed drastically overnight. He discovers that he’s a ‘reader’ and that makes him special. It also has the unfortunate side effect of making people want to kill him.

The Hero’s Lot – Patrick Carr – The second book after A Cast of Stones. [Since I was reading the Collegium series at the same time I kind of kept confusing my orphans but Mags and Stone are different people.] Stone, in these books, it a very reluctant hero. His destiny seems determined to kill him, and becomes resigned to that idea. He learns who he is and what he needs to do and continues to sacrifice his own wants and desires to serve a kingdom that has basically screwed him over at every opportunity. There’s another book in this series coming out next year and I’m looking forward to it.

Collegium Series – Mercedes Lackey – Another series set in the Valdemar world, these books have a different feel to them than most of the other books set in this universe. Mags’ past is beyond terrible but he rises above, and like Stone he overcomes the bullshit obstacles that the world seems determined to throw at him. There’s just something so endearing about Mags. He doesn’t have a single sense of entitlement or importance, even when he deserves to, and frankly it’s refreshing.

Battle Magic – Tamora Pierce – I love Pierce, her Lionness series got me through my childhood. This series, about elemental mages does have the same effect on me, but they are still enjoyable stories. I think I must have missed a couple of books in this series though since the characters had all aged a fair amount since I last saw them. This one was a nice read, but I don’t feel compelled to catch up on what I missed or rush out to get the next book.

Royal Airs – Sharon Shinn – The Archangel series by Shinn is one of my favorites but I haven’t loved her other series. This one though (this was book 2 so now I have to go back and read book 1) totally grabbed me and I could not put it down! It’s set a world not too dissimilar from 99% of YA fantasy novels (magic but no electricity) but something about it just drew me in. I highly recommend it.

Troubled Waters – Sharon Shinn – This book actually comes before Royal Airs but oh well! I blazed through this story as well. The books each focus on a slightly different story (sort of reminding me of Nora Roberts series where each guy/girl falls in love in turn) but the heroine’s are strong and independent and the mythology is unlike anything I’ve seen before.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

