Movie Lover – The Heat

Leave a comment

December 14, 2013 by rachelcmann

I mean how can you go wrong with Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy? Well, you can put them in predictable characters in a predictable story with massive gaping humongous plot holes. There are some truly funny moments here but the movie is kind of a disappointment overall. I did laugh out loud, practically crying with laughter in a few spots. But the overall predictability of the film and the heavy handed use of tropes made it leave a sour taste iin my mouth. the-heat1

Essentially Bullock is an uptight FBI agent who has no friends among her exclusively male coworkers because she does her job well and is right. (She could be a little less smug but it irritates me that this makes her a completely unlikable human being because she’s female) McCarthy is a cop in Boston who should not still be employed in any way shape or form.  Again, all her coworkers are male and no one likes her (a tad more understandable this time). They end up working together to track down a drug lord. Hilarity ensues.

I am still quoting a couple of lines from the film though, so I have to give it that. It just could have been so much more. There could have been ANY other character who was female (Jane Curtain plays McCarthy’s mother and has three lines and there are a couple of ditzy relatives who have about as many lines as that as well). They were a number of overtones between Bullocks character here and her character in Miss Congeniality, unavoidable maybe, but more avoidable than this. McCarthy is a comedic genius and she does get to stretch her legs here but some things fell a little flat for me. So overall I did enjoy it, but I’m a little disappointed.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

