Movie Lover – The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

3

December 5, 2013 by rachelcmann

So much anticipation! Especially now that Jennifer Lawrence is a household name! And the books are just as popular as ever and oh my gosh will everyone shut up about the movie before I get a chance to see it!hunger-games-3-1024x640

First off a note about trailers. I have seen more movies in theater in the last month than I have in probably the previous year. Each one has had 30 minutes or more of trailers so I’ve gotten to see several of the new movies trailers a couple of times. The one that sticks out for me (and not in a good way) is I, Frankenstein aka Frankenstein v Gargoyles. I will happily watch a movie about gargoyles, but this not so much.

Anyway, on to the movie. I’m assuming y’all know what it’s about so I’m just going to touch a few highlights. Do you remember when the first movie came out and everyone was in an uproar because Rue (Katniss‘ petite tree hopping ally) was a small black girl instead of the blond thing she’s described as in the book? I didn’t really have a problem with it then. And then Katniss and Peeta go to Rue’s district and its the cotton picking district. No joke. Did no one (including the author) think that was a bad idea? What was wrong with her district being the fruit picking district?!?

I had forgotten just how much of the book was NOT the actual games. But that said, I feel like I remember reading about some parts that didn’t happen in the movie. One, don’t she and Gale come across some refugees in the woods who are on their way to District 13? Two, doesn’t she befriend the mute girl in the capital and realize that she recognizes her from District 12? What happened to that (it’s entirely possible those points are from a different book and I’m mixing them up)?

Overall the movie was very good. The cast is really doing an honorable job even if I didn’t love the casting for Finnick (I want Wes Aderhold in that part please). I cried, I laughed, I was on the edge of my seat! It’s been so long since I’ve read the third book that I don’t remember a whole lot about it so it’ll be nice to see the movie with fresh eyes. There was a section in this movie that I had forgotten about and it was such a delight to be surprised.

So have you seen Hunger Games yet? Or just read it? What did you think?

 

3 thoughts on “Movie Lover – The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

  1. […] Movie Lover – The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (readwatchgeek.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Movie Lover – The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (readwatchgeek.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] the chosen one has not been in our present day high schools, but in a futuristic dystopia. The Hunger Games and Divergent being the ones that have risen to the cultural forefront. Both feature young women who […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

