Movie Lover – Ender’s Game

Leave a comment

November 20, 2013 by rachelcmann

It’s been a long while since I read the book. All I really remembered was that adults were using the malleable brains of children to play war games. Somehow Ender is the second coming of war generals who can save humankind. And I wasn’t far off the mark, but I had completely forgotten about the alien bugs and how much Ender gets screwed.

 

Ender's Game

Ender’s Game (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

The movie was probably a fairly faithful adaptation considering how many eyes were on this. But since I wasn’t one of those eyes I had a couple of nitpicky problems.

 

a) Harrison Ford and a very distracting scar on his chin. Is that always there?

 

and b) Dude’s ears wiggled way to much!

 

1) Why on Earth (why on Space?) would you build a massive zeroG practice battlefield with glass walls?

 

and 2) Even if it is glass, Harrison Ford can’t see you and your maneuvers from a 500 yards away through a space port hole.

 

i) The very long and sort of extraneous CGI scenes. If it’s a mind game/dream land than why don’t make it more illustrative?

 

Finally (SPOILER) if he has this precious cargo of the last Formic…doesn’t he need two of them? Like to pro-create? Pretty sure ants aren’t asexual reproducers. But I suppose aliens that strongly resemble ants could be just about anything.

 

Props to newcomer Asa Butterfield for doing an outstanding job with a very complex characters. If you like scifi films with more spaceships than fantasy elements (or if you’re a fan of the book) I’m sure you’ll enjoy it too.

 

 

 

 

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

