Movie Lover – Promised Land

Leave a comment

November 14, 2013 by rachelcmann

When this movie first came out I thought it was set in Australia (no idea why) and only vaguely had a sense that it was about frakking. Then I heard an interview with John Krasinski and really wanted to see it. It’s a quiet piece, only using the controversial subject of natural gas mining as a backdrop to this human piece. matt-damon-600

Matt Damon is an exec for a big natural gas company who goes to small towns and buys up the mining rights. There’s a loooooot of money in natural gas and most of these people are already struggling farmers so it’s not too difficult a task to convince people to sell their land. But not everyone is willing to submit so easily, so when a local science teacher (who also happens to be a retired PhD engineer) raises some questions the town decides to take a vote. Suddenly John Krasinski swoops into town as an environmental activist trying to kick convince people against natural gas. There’s a lot more to it and I’d really encourage you to check this movie out. Fair warning, the ending is a bit trite but it doesn’t take away from the rest of the film.

The movie was certainly not what I expected so whatever your expectations are I bet you’ll be surprised too.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

