Movie Lover – This is the End

2

November 8, 2013 by rachelcmann

I’ve seen most of the Seth Rogan canon. If you were to ask me about it I would tell you that I feel pretty neutral about it. But I’m always pleasantly surprised when I watch the movie. Pineapple Express was really good! Knocked Up is wicked entertaining. So for This is the End, about which I had heard good things, I raised my expectations a bit. MV5BMTQxODE3NjM1Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzkzNjc4OA@@._V1_SX214_

So the film is about the Rogan crew during the apocalypse. At a big party at James Franco‘s house a variety of actors playing themselves (or versions of themselves) get dead real quick when the earth opens up and all hell breaks loose. A small contingency remains (Rogan, Franco, Craig Robinson, Danny McBride, Jay Baruchel, Jonah Hill). The dynamics between the guys fluctuates as they cope with the new reality. Baruchel plays Rogan’s oldest friend from home, who has a hard time fitting in with the new Hollywood friends Rogan has accrued. Sort of understandable since Franco plays the most exaggerated version of what we all think he must be like, pretentious and more than a little bit in need of a psych eval. McBride is just an a**hole. Hill plays a sickly sweet slightly gay version of his Superbad character. Robinson seems like himself but don’t really have anything to compare it to.

There are some really funny moments but at the end of the day the jokes are exactly what you’d expect. Emma Watson makes a nice cameo. As does Channing Tatum. Is the movie worth your time? I honestly don’t know you well enough to make that recommendation. But if you’re looking for something in the stoner comedy genre this will make you laugh. If not, I’d probably skip it.

 

2 thoughts on “Movie Lover – This is the End

  1. […] Movie Lover – This is the End […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

