TV Fan – Pilots I Gave Up On – 2013

1

November 5, 2013 by rachelcmann

Welcome to the Family – J’adore Mary McCormack. I’m pretty fond of Mike O’Malley too. But I hated this. I didn’t even get all the way through the episode. It’s Romeo & Juliet. And I’m sure someone in development thinks they’re clever for making the white family/girl dumb and lower class while making the Hispanic family/boy smart and upper class. Congratulations, you broke a stereotype that’s so overplayed that four year olds know that it’s not reflective of society. Bleck.

Dads – Just awful. I like Seth Green a lot, and Giovanni Ribisi too. But the minute they forced Brenda Song into a Sailor Moon outfit for their meeting with an Asian company I was out. It’s offensive and ridiculous. The whole show seems designed to piss me off.

Witches of East End – I haven’t actually read the books that this show is based on, but going off of the pilot I don’t think I’ll start. It’s a little bit Practical Magic, a lot everything-on-Lifetime-ever. Everyone looks like they’ve stepped off a romance novel cover. The siblings look nothing like each other and the plot is…what’s another word for predictable? Jenna Dewan-Tatum is a fine actress but it might be mice to see her play something with some actual depth. I can’t name any one else in the cast, but no one stands out as being particularly fantastic or terrible. The whole thing is very vanilla to me. I’m sure fans of the books are eating it up but it fell flat for me. Which is a bummer because I was looking forward to this show.

Super Fun Night – I like Rebel Wilson, I think she’s funny and I want her to succeed. But this show. I didn’t even get past the half way mark. To the point where I can’t even really tell you what the show is about because the jokes were so horrible I didn’t care about the characters.

Reign – Wow. I can’t even start to tell you how bad this show is. A teen drama about Mary Queen of Scots is enough of a stretch but the lead actress can’t act her way out of a paper bag. Which is sort of funny since the main intrigue in the film is a shadowy figure with a burlap sack over their head. Everything about this show is terrible. Even Megan Follows whom I adore.

One thought on “TV Fan – Pilots I Gave Up On – 2013

  1. […] TV Fan – Pilots I Gave Up On – 2013 (readwatchgeek.wordpress.com) […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

