Bookworm – October 2013

Leave a comment

November 2, 2013 by rachelcmann

Gameboards of the Gods – Richelle Mead – This is an interesting world. There’s some dystopia/utopia angles post-apocalyptic but we’ve recovered landscape aspects. But in a society trying to rule itself with Science, the supernatural is creeping in. This isn’t really a young adult novel as there is a fair amount of sexual content and violence but I totally got sucked into the world of RUNA. The characters are complex and I hope there is a follow up novel to continue exploring them. There are some predictable moments but also surprising ones, for me it had just the right amount of familiarity.

Foundation – Mercedes Lackey – Yeah okay, I’m on a kick lately. This particular book starts off a little slow for me but I don’t read this set often so it’s like reading it for the first time.

The Gate Thief – Orson Scott Card – It’s been awhile since I read Ender’s Game (though I’m stoked for the movie) and so I couldn’t really predict how I would feel about this new book from Card. The mythology is interesting, very original. But I feel like he’s so afraid that we’ll forget what it is that he repeats it as often as possible. It makes the book slow waaaay down and frankly is kind of insulting.

The Dragon’s Apprentice – James A Owen – And we’re back on track folks in The Dragon’s Apprentice! Time travel with fun pop culture references that literally made me squeal with delight. Which startled my dog but he should be used to it by now. Taking the team (which seems to be growing with every book) out of both Summer Country (aka our world) and the Archipelago (dream world) and out of their own time (the 1940’s) is a huge leap. Kind of like boxed in episodes on TV, where they contrive a reason to have everyone locked in a room which creates tension and drama.

It certainly worked for me in this one, I’m totally back on board! But I’m starting to lose the threads a bit. Which is driven home to me when I pick up The Dragon of Winter. There are Caretakers pouring out of the woodwork, plus all the extra folks we’ve picked up along the way. I can’t keep track of who is on what side or if there are even sides to choose anymore.

The Dragon of Winter – James A Owen – There are Caretakers pouring out of the woodwork, plus all the extra folks we’ve picked up along the way. I can’t keep track of who is on what side or if there are even sides to choose anymore.

The Thinking Girl’s Guide to Real Magic Emily Croy Barker – I really enjoyed this book (which I picked up somewhat randomly off of Jinx’s shelf). While it adheres to many magical rules we’re already familiar with (like lack of technology due to magic, evil fairies, etc) it offers an entirely new perspective. While I struggled a little first to get into it I quickly found myself devouring the pages.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

