Movie Lover – Spring Breakers

1

October 25, 2013 by rachelcmann

What a weird movie. I don’t even know where to start. On the outside this looks like a fluff piece, a way for Disney princesses Selena Gomez and Vanessa Hudgens to break out of their type. But that’s not really the point of the film.

It’s a highly stylized tale of juvenile delinquents who get their kicks and really come into their criminal prime at Spring Break in Florida. Admittedly that is an incredibly reductionist version of the plot. This is a particularly graphic film and the whole thing made me mildly uncomfortable. I thought about stopping it several times but I was so curious for how it would end.

From a film critic standpoint the movie has some really interesting techniques. Color washing, long lens shots, repeated dialogue tracks. So while I wasn’t a fan of the content I enjoyed analyzing the film from a more cinematographic angle.

One thought on “Movie Lover – Spring Breakers

  1. Mandy says:

    Great review! You summed it up perfectly – “weird”. I really liked it, but there were lots of times my husband and I were like “maybe we should stop this movie”… it was like a car wreck. You didn’t want to watch but you couldn’t help it. I thought Franco was genius as “Alien” and Selena Gomez was very believable as a sweet and innocent girl caught up in the wrong crowd. I kept routing for her to get on that dang bus and leave those crazies behind. It definitely was an interesting movie!

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

