TV Fan – American Horror Story: Coven

1

October 17, 2013 by rachelcmann

As we’ve established I’m not a fan of the horror genre. But American Horror Story usually lives more in the psychological thriller category and I really enjoyed Season 1. (I skipped Season 2 because I loathe Chloe Sevigny). Plus Season 3 has witches! Fun?

I’m going to go into a bit more detail and get a bit more graphic than a usually do here so consider yourself Spoiler and Gross warned.

Promotional poster of American Horror Story.

A girl loses her virginity which inexplicably causes her paramour to bleed out and die. Turns out she’s a hereditary witch and she gets shipped off to New Orleans. Her new bff is a celeb (Emma Roberts) with an addiction, telepathy. The sneak out to a frat party, the celeb gets gang raped and when she comes around she flips the bus carrying the rapists and kills them. A couple of innocents get ganked too, but the main offender manages to live. So girl goes to the hospital and f*cks him so he dies.

Meanwhile, back in the 1800s there is a mad (as in crazy not as in angry) white woman who is straight up sadistic. She is torturing her slaves, and this is where I had to avert my eyes and cover my ears. This is not something you want to see. She eventually gets taken out by another witch. Turns out she gets buried alive (with a spell on so she stays that way) until Jessica Lange digs her up in present day. Lange, btw, is the Supreme witch of her generation which means she gets all the powers (everyone else gets just one apparently). Unfortunately she’s also a total bitch.

I don’t know if I’ll be able to handle this season and keep watching. It’s so intense and gory, but it’s also deliciously scary and I so rarely enjoy being scared.

One thought on “TV Fan – American Horror Story: Coven

  1. Mandy says:

    I love it! I’m a horror fan, and think the AHS series is insanely creative and interesting. Love this new season so far (I love everything New Orleans, even been to Marie Laveau’s tomb – the witch played by Bassett). I missed last nights episode but will catch it online. I had to look away during the torture too, and seriously thought I was going to have nightmares by that manatar!

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

