TV Fan – Trophy Wife – ABC

Leave a comment

September 24, 2013 by rachelcmann

Pre-review!

So on the outside, this show sounds terrible. Lawyer stiff with two ex-wives meets and falls in love with partying 20-something who gets in too deep with his whole complicated family. Just terrible. Unoriginal. Obnoxious. (I would be slightly more intrigued if it were a Cougar gal finding a boy toy but whatever.)

But the casting, oh the casting! – Bradley Whitford, Malin Ackerman, Marcia Gay Harden, etc. Well I have to give it a shot. trophy-wife-11

It’s actually really watchable. Even the pilot where there’s a lot to set up, I kind of really liked it! That’s a winning endorsement I know. They should use this in the publicity 😉 Sure, most everyone is pretty typecast/stereotypical totally predictable, but Ackerman shines as the slightly awkward hot girl. I’ll watch Whitford read the phone book so of course he’s great. I don’t love the voice-over, kind of Grey’s Anatomy with even more pseudo-philosophy and I didn’t think that was possible. I think the voice-over is unnecessary and expositional, but there is a lot to like about the show. I have hope that they’ll give depth to the entirely one-dimensional cast. The youngest son Burt is hilarious (think Manny from Modern Family) and even though the scenarios are a bit (okay a lot) absurd, something about it works. 

It’ll stay on my list for now but even though I enjoyed the pilot it skating on thin ice. Maybe I just hate the title? Not that I have a better one…

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

