TV Fan – Sleepy Hollow – Fox

2

September 21, 2013 by rachelcmann

I don’t do scary stuff. But this doesn’t really look that scary, or at least no scarier than the other supernatural stuff I watch like Supernatural or Being Human. This does have a couple of jump scares in it though so beware. So basically, Ichabod Crane gets immortalized by his witch wife and he wakes up 250 years later because the headless horseman is out there beheading folks again whilst looking for his own demon decapitated head in a jar in the not-so-small hamlet of Sleepy Hollow. With me so far?

o-SLEEPY-HOLLOW-FOX-facebook

Like a good pilot, it keeps us guessing about who are the good guys vs who the bad guys are. Friends become foes and you can’t trust anyone.

I laughed in the beginning when dude walks out onto the road and is all confused and is then nearly roadkill. Reminded me of the movie Hocus Pocus. Lt Mills is awesome, I’m totes in love with her. Ichabod is pretty cool too. He reminds a bit of Benedict Cumberbatch‘s Sherlock actually. Regal and very British but still has a sense of humor about him. His playing with the car windows is my favorite. PS – can I have his boots?

There is some interesting camera work too. When John Cho goes to his apartment, the through the peephole swinging door and through shot is really cool. Sometimes it feels contrived but that shot in particular was Wow. The CGI of the removed head is pretty darn good too. For guy who’s been dead for 250 years and doesn’t have a head he sure knows how to use an assault rifle.

I’m not real sure how they’re going to make a full series of this short story because once they solve the initial headless horseman problem they don’t really have anywhere to go. They did set themselves up for a nice long story line in the mythology, but they’ll need new baddies for Season 2 if they get that far.

I’m going to keep watching, I like the chemistry between Crane and Mills a lot and the mythology is familiar but has a nice twist. Maybe “nice” isn’t the right word 😉

2 thoughts on “TV Fan – Sleepy Hollow – Fox

  1. PhotoGrrl Pictures says:

    Yours is the first review I’ve read of Sleepy Hollow since I wrote my own, and you’re much more charitable than I was. LOL. I just couldn’t help feeling like everything we discovered in the pilot would be much more convincing as the arch of the first season. Be that as it may I do think that Tom Mison is a good performer, with a lovely dry sense of humor. I hope the show improves, but I don’t think I’ll be sticking around to find out!

    • rachelcmann says:

      I agree that they crammed a lot in, but it actually makes a bit more curious to see what else they have in store. I mean, if they were willing to give so much in the first hour, what’s to come? You have a lot of good thoughts in regards to the lack of reality/continuity etc. I guess I’m a little more willing to overlook it…for now.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

