Everything Else – Laughter

Leave a comment

August 17, 2013 by rachelcmann

If you ask me what I want to watch at any given moment, I’ll tell you I’d prefer a comedy. Something light hearted. Entertainment is about escape and frankly, I don’t want to escape into crazy drama or go through the emotional wringer. But I got to thinking about my favorite shows and movies and books, and they are mostly dramas. Just now, writing this I’m trying to come up with my favorite comedic movie…and failing.

So why do I strongly prefer things that don’t end up being my favorites? Why don’t I seek out more dramas and heavier material that might become a favorite? Why are comedies not seen as high art like dramas are, just in general?

The obvious answer is that dramas are (usually) significantly more able to make you feel. Like feeeeeel. Where comedies might make you laugh and smile, that emotion is more fleeting and more easily surpassed by feelings of sadness. I don’t re-watch/read my favorite things very often, because they really effect me, but I can watch countless mindless comedies to get that temporary rush. Just like a funny YouTube video or comic in the paper has the ability to do. Science shows that smiling, even if you don’t feel like it, can improve your mood. And laughing burns calories! Of course you might look like a crazy person at your office when you burst out laughing, but at least you’ll have the heart benefits! I’m fortunate at my job to be able (and sort of encouraged) to watch videos while I work. So with that in mind, here are some of my resources when I need a pick me up.

Pandora – did you know they stream comedians? Start a station with a favorite comedian of yours and start giggling. I like lesser well known folks like John Mulaney and Bo Burnham.

YouTube – endless supply of silly funny things or highbrow funny things, for every sense of humor. I like Maru, SourceFed, My Drunk Kitchen, or just searching for gag reels of my favorite shows.

The Internet – Cracked.com is an endless source of entertainment for me. I don’t read as many articles as I used to but they’ve ramped up their video content which is great. The Onion is an old standard as well. I also really like Get Fuzzy. Or follow Witstream on twitter to get curated (kind of) jokes, in 140 characters or less.

PS- this post so did not end up where I was intending

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

