Everything Else – Catchphrases (and Gestures)

Leave a comment

July 21, 2013 by rachelcmann

Yadda yadda yadda got added to the dictionary several years after it had become part of the general population’s vernacular. Now, after only a few months the incredibly annoying #yolo has been added because it’s (apparently) ingrained enough in our culture that it deserves a semi-permanent place in our records. (Words get removed from the dictionary if they’ve fallen out of use).

But that’s not what I want to talk about exactly.

Name a character that is known for their catch phrase or gesture. Like the detective on CSI: Miami and his sunglasses. Dr. Sheldon Cooper “Bazinga.” “Eat my shorts” – Bart Simpson.

That’s still not really what I want to talk about though, sorry, it’s taking me awhile to get there. Over the weekend I noticed that I kept saying “yeahyeahyeahyeahyeah” to agree with someone or when I remembered something. I was annoying to myself. In high school my phrase “No comment,” a kind of passive aggressive way of saying I had something snarky to say but wouldn’t. I also say “So” a lot.

So (see!) what is my point? My point is that TV effects our language. (affects? I can never remember the difference on that one) Not new information, I’m aware. And although I’m not currently mimicking a specific phrase that I’m aware of, I’m sure I picked up my rapid fire “yeahs” from somewhere. It is a long running joke with Potter about my finger wag and point when I think of an idea, and now he does it as well. We are constantly influenced by our surroundings, and recently my surroundings are generally my laptop screen on Hulu or amazon prime.

Is it a bad thing? A neutral thing? I highly doubt anyone would argue that TV/music influencing our lives so much that things like “tweet” and “totes” (as in totally) end up in the dictionary which feels like this mammoth historical document that records our words for prosperity, should really live on. On the other hand, these words and phrases are part of our lives. And isn’t TV supposed to reflect our culture. Look how the landscape of TV has changed and while we still have a long way to go, reflecting racial populations in particular, what we watch is a reflection of us.

It’s like the mirror in a mirror in a mirror. TV reflects our culture, but it also influences us and as we evolve to mirror TV it changes again to reflect back the newer version of our population.

And now my brain hurts. The End.

(PS – don’t get amazon prime, you will not stop spending money because it’s free 2 day shipping and why, yes I do need that extra roll of paper towels!)

 

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

