TV Fan – The Glades

Leave a comment

July 17, 2013 by rachelcmann

I don’t really watch a lot of cop procedurals. They are so incredibly dependent on the watchability/likability of the main characters that even the ones I love get stale after a few seasons. Case in point? Castle, Justified, Rizzoli and Isles, NCIS, The Closer, Major Crimes, do I need to keep going?

I watched Castle for several seasons, as well as Justified. The others not as much but I’ve at least given them a shot. Somehow I keep coming around to The Glades. Jim Longworth isn’t particularly likable, his puns and smarminess are pretty off putting. His relationship with the comely nurse with a kid and a bad ex is pretty predictable. The side kicks at the police station are fairly stereotypical. But it all works together somehow to make a show that’s in it’s fourth season and I’m still watching. 

Which is why I’m having such a hard time writing this. I don’t really know what to say about it because I don’t have strong feelings about it. So why am I even writing about it? Because at the end of the day it’s that X factor that makes shows last. Ask me what I like about my favorite shows and it’s hard to articulate. The characters! The story! The writing! The Glades doesn’t really have these things in spades, but maybe it does. Maybe it has a very subtle mix of all those things that makes me like it and not love it. I wonder what would push me over the edge?

 

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

