TV Fan – Under the Dome – CBS

Leave a comment

July 14, 2013 by rachelcmann

Cover of "Under the Dome: A Novel"

Cover of Under the Dome: A Novel

Let me start by saying (if I haven’t already) that I’m not a big Stephen King fan. I’m sure he’s a very good writer but his subject matter gives me the heebie-jeebies 99% of the time. (One notable exception being 11/22/63 which was great!) So when Under the Dome came my way it seemed to be a little bit more like The Village (yes, I know that’s not a Stephen King title) than The Shining and I thought I would try it.

Then I found out they were making it a TV show.

Then I stopped reading because it was graphic and bloody and I decided I’d rather just watch the show.

TV – 1, Reading – 0

So let me say this about the show that started up a few weeks ago – it is WAY less horror-y than the book. They just plain skip over some of the extraneous death scenes and by Episode Two we’re past where I stopped reading. Now, will I keep watching? I think so, at least for now. There are a whole lot of mysteries to solve even without counting the semi-permeable dome over the town. And they are killing off characters fast enough that I don’t feel like there are too many people to keep track of which is nice. Or as nice as killing people off can be.

Bonus – a grown up Colin Ford!

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

