Movie Lover – Now You See Me

Leave a comment

June 28, 2013 by rachelcmann

Now you don’t. I actually REALLY liked this movie. I hadn’t even heard of it before it was in theaters and I saw a couple of trailers but WOW.

Let me start with the not great stuff:

– I’m so over Jesse Eisenberg as Mark Zuckerberg in every movie

– Suspension of belief, fine okay, but when you turn four paper cards into a glass cube we have a problem

– Failure of the Bechdel Test* (there are three women with names but they never talk to each other)

Okay, on to the good stuff!

-First of all, it would have been really easy to do too much CGI garbledygook (shut up spell check) and while it was definitely in effect, it was pretty subtle (okay, there’s one moment with these silky curtains that I rolled my eyes at but whatever)

– Gooooood story

– Amazing cast! Isla Fisher (love), Michael Caine (!!!), Morgan Freeman (duh), Mark Ruffalo (adorbs), Woody Harrelson (so much better without the Haymitch wig), Jesse Eisenberg (never ever ever wear a soul patch, he is Exhibit A), Dave Franco (surprisingly good!), Melanie Laurent (making dark roots look…not terrible)

– Holy crap twist

It’s been awhile since I saw a movie that I really wanted to recommend and see again and talk about and and and….yeah, go see it. The End.

*I’m going to write up a thing about the Bechdel test soon, just haven’t quite firmed up my thoughts yet

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

