Everything Else: Memories (all alone in the moooonlight)*

1

June 24, 2013 by rachelcmann

Hey Doc, I’ve been having this problem lately. I literally don’t realize I’ve already seen/read something until I’m most of the way through it. Now maybe this piece of media is just not that memorable. Maybe I’m consuming so much that things are getting pushed aside. Maybe I’m getting old (this is a real possibility).

But here’s an example- my mom and I wanted to watch a movie. We fire up the Roku and since I’ve seen almost everything it’s hard to find something to watch. We try Limitless. We get about 20 minutes in and both realize we’ve seen it. We try again, this time Shooter with Mark Wahlberg. Near the end of the film there’s a confrontation moment on a snowy mountain. At which point I realize I’ve seen this movie. Yup, seen the slowest action movie ever already once before.

It happened again with a book I started to read (which I now can’t remember the name of it which indicates this issue may have more to do with my brain than anything else). Has everything just started to blur together? People ask me for movie or TV recommendations and unless I’ve seen something truly astonishing I just draw a blank. To be fair to my own white matter, I’ve started a new job and have been cramming a bunch of stuff in there, flexing the old neurons in new ways. Something in the short term memory drawer has got to go. But for me to forget an entire movie? Have zero recollection? That seems…a little frightening honestly.

Am I the only who forgets a movie so soon after I’ve seen it? Or am chapters into a book only to realize I’ve read it before (see my monthly reports for how often this happens). Is it all just becoming background noise to the truly wonderful things out there?

*CATS reference for the theater nerd in me

 

 

One thought on “Everything Else: Memories (all alone in the moooonlight)*

  1. Fred says:

    Nope, you’re definitely not alone in that. It’s one of the reasons I started a Goodreads account. Hell, I can’t remember half the plays I’ve worked on, let alone what books I’ve read or movies I’ve seen. :-/

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

