TV Fan – Modern Family – ABC

Leave a comment

June 22, 2013 by rachelcmann

What a good show. I consider Modern Family to be the second coming of sitcoms. We had a bad spate there after Seinfeld and Friends, it was a sitcom wasteland. And then the light

The opening screen depicts the three families ...

The opening screen depicts the three families that make up the larger Pritchett clan (from left to right): Gloria, Manny, and Jay; Luke, Alex, Claire, Haley, and Phil; and Lily, Mitchell, and Cam. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

began to return. Modern Family, 30 Rock and The Office arrived to save us. More freshman sitcoms are keeping the bar raised pretty high, but I still love Modern Family.

There is no real gimmick, or at least not an original one. It’s in a pseudo-documentary style ala The Office. It’s a mixed generation/racial family which was maybe supposed to be original or edgy, and honestly seemed a little forced at first but I’ve grown to love the cast so much.

Phil and Claire Dunphy (Ty Burell and Julie Bowen) remind me so much of my own parents it’s painful sometimes. Seriously cringe-worthy. Each character is well-defined, and at this point in the series not too one-dimensional. The stories are a little exaggerated but also really relatable*, and man oh man is the writing spot on. Sofia Vergara could be entirely boobs and hair, but I really fell in love with her when I saw the cast on Inside the Actor’s Studio. She has real chops and I hope she gets to use them in another venue when Modern Family is over. The kids in this show also deserve a great round of TV applause, I think it’s entirely too easy for child characters (and actors) to play one side of a story, and while they are archetypes, they are given opportunities to branch out.

Okay, I’ll stop gushing now. Go watch it.

*Is relatable not a real word?

 

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

