Movie Lover – Star Trek Into Darkness

Leave a comment

June 4, 2013 by rachelcmann

OMG

Let me start by saying I’m not a huge Trekkie. I grew up in the TNG/Deep Space Nine era, and so the whole Kirk crew is a bit foreign to me. I was excited for the reboot in ’09 mainly due to the spot on casting. And JJ hasn’t disappointed. On the plus side, I’ve been able to enjoy the spoilers and tidbits that have come out around the movie without it ruining the film. For me, Into Darkness strikes a pretty perfect blend of comedy and drama and action. I totally want to see it again. Like right now. Without spoiling anything, the basic plot is:

IMG_0404Kirk violates the prime directive (duh) to save Spock. Kirk gets demoted. A bad guy blows something up, so Kirk et al convene to strategize. Kirk is the only one who recognizes that they are now sitting ducks.

Cue firefight. Tears. Resolve. Onward. In the Enterprise‘s pursuit of said bad guy (yes I’m talking about Cumberbatch) lots of explosions happen. There are more bad guys and the line between good and bad gets a little blurred. Cumberbatch looks badass and scary (and he’s going to get a premature wrinkle from scowling all the time!) and has some stupid floppy hair moments. I wanted to hand him a barrette! Anyway, more fighting, more explosions and voila, the Enterprise saves the day. The End

Kirk cries, Spock cries, Harrison (Cumberbatch) cries, everyone cries. No one laughs except the audience because there are some really fantastic zingers/inside jokes in there. Even if you aren’t into Star Trek you can like this movie, but if you’re reading this you’ve probably already seen it. Can I go watch it again now?

PS- Chris Pine and Benedict Cumberbatch in the same movie? What are these people trying to do to my ovaries?

 

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

