Bookworm – May 2013

Leave a comment

June 2, 2013 by rachelcmann

So because I’ve been moving/traveling/lots of stuff going on, I’ve been reading a lot on my B&N Nook*. On my nook is the library of a friend of mine (Jinx), so it’s a lot of things I wouldn’t normally choose for myself. Luckily she has (mostly) good taste and I found a new favorite!

Bird by BirdAnne Lamott – This book has been recommended to me more times than I can count, even before I started taking the craft of writing more seriously. Bird by Bird is considered by many to be a book of philosophy as well as writing. Chica (previously mentioned friend of mine) has been a bit of a pest about my reading it actually. When I told her I was in the middle of it, she asked me if it felt like Lamott was speaking directly to me, like she could see into me. Honestly, no. But I can see where Chica would feel that way. The book is funny in spots, philosophical and offers a few tidbits on writing as a profession. Maybe I wasn’t in the right head space to fully appreciate it. Or maybe I just haven’t discovered the voice that speaks to me yet. **I’m still getting around to finishing this**

Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore – Robin Sloan – This is the book I mentioned before, about being a new favorite. I couldn’t put it down. First of all it’s set in San Francisco and the writer takes great care of my fair city. I knew exactly where the characters were and that was a treat. At first I was worried the novel was going to be a contemporary millennial saga of self absorption and entitlement, but I was so happy to wrong. There are several lovely twists and I want a (real) copy for my bookshelf.  I laughed out loud several times, which almost never happens, so two thumbs up for that! PS – I also really enjoyed the writing style and language.

Dead Witch WalkingKim Harrison – In my search for something in my usual vein on the Nook, this is what I found. I feel like I’ve seen this book on the mass paperback wheel before and just not picked it up for some reason. At first, the Inderland stuff reminds me of the Merry Gentry series by Laurel K Hamilton (which I would recommend for supernatural romance fans) but it takes on a more steely tone pretty quickly. It picks up around the middle of the book, too long for me, although I did end up finishing it.

Hallowed – Cynthia Hand – This is the follow up to Unearthly, which I read awhile back. I’m having a hard time caring about teenager angst problems though. I guess I’ve swung into Hallowed (Unearthly, #2)more adult sci-fi books lately and it makes it harder to swallow the problems of people who can’t drive or vote.

The Codex – Douglas Preston – I kind of couldn’t put this down. I would say I knew what was coming in this Dan Brown-esque novel but I was still surprised occasionally. I picked up a few more of his books to see if they continue to be compelling.

Frost Burned – Patricia Briggs – I’ve read other books in the Mercy series but I couldn’t really remember them. I really liked this one though, there were multiple climaxes, which is nice sometimes. I don’t want to be always reading books where our heroine is thrown into one ridiculously-over-the-top dangerous situations after another, but this one made sense. Or at least as much sense as werewolves, Coyote gods and vampires can.

Heat Stroke – Rachel Caine – After being really into the first Weather Warden book I had high expectations for the sequel. Unfortunately I was disappointed. The book was good, and certainly had lots of twists and turns but I just wasn’t that into it. I finished it mind you, and in only a few hours, but my heart wasn’t in it. Alas.

Abandoned

The Golem and the Jinni – Other than the fact that I think “The Jinni and the Golem” has better flow, this book plods along like a clay construction.

The Strain – Guillermo Del Toro – I couldn’t shake the feeling that I’d read it before and eventually I just gave up. I heard they’re making a movie and/or TV show, I’ll just watch instead.

*E-Readers do not lend themselves to pictures of stacked books like in previous posts. Not to worry, I’m settling down and will have a new library card very soon.

**I feel like I’m forgetting something else that I read but I’ll be damned if I remember what. Guess that probably says more about the remarkability (not a word, I like it anyway) of the book than it does about my memory….right?

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

