Movie Lover – Beautiful Creatures

3

May 21, 2013 by rachelcmann

A few months ago when this was about to be released I was really impressed by the trailers and the stellar cast (Emmy Rossum, Jeremy Irons, Emma Thompson, Viola Davis etc). After watching the movie however…

I haven’t read the source material, the (apparently) super popular book of the same name. But the story line is not too different from any other young adult fantasy novel on the shelf. A strange girl moves to a small town. Everyone hates her but one boy is different, more open minded and they fall in love. Family, magic and destiny push and pull at them.

Amazing costume!

There is a big dramatic fight and she wins the battle against the bad guys but at the cost of losing him. Or does she?

I think if you’re already a fan of the book you’ll probably like the movie. Maybe I’m missing the magic that can only be conveyed in words. There are definitely some surprises which I appreciated. But it’s also a bit predictable in spots. Okay, a lot predictable. Maybe I just really hate people sticking out their hand and then magic happens, whatever happened to originality? (ie Samantha’s nose twitch) And the young man’s southern accent veered over the line from charming to grating. What I liked most about the film was the costumes, I hope it gets nominated for something because several of the big gowns are to die for. Not that I have any practical use for a ball gown with a leather bustier but hey, a girl can dream right?

 

3 thoughts on “Movie Lover – Beautiful Creatures

  1. Mandy says:

    I agree with you about Ethan’s accent – it was way too much! I love your blog, btw!

    • rachelcmann says:

      Thanks so much! It was super distracting right?
      Your blog is super cute too! I’ll definitely start reading- any tips on how to incorporate a ball gown into my wardrobe 😉

      • Mandy says:

        Hmm, that might be tricky. I think it would be really cute to pair a ball gown with like a jean jacket. Kind of mix super fancy with laid back casual.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

