Everything Else – Spoilers

2

May 12, 2013 by rachelcmann

[No Actual Spoilers Contained]

Spoilers are an interesting thing to me. For the most part I don’t watch previews or read spoiler articles. I’m not going out of my way to make sure I know nothing about an upcoming episode, but I’m also not seeking them out. I just skip the TVLine articles about Supernatural casting and ‘pictures from set’ from the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary special.

Why would you want to know what’s going to happen on your favorite show without all the drama and context you get from watching it? That’s like peeking at your Christmas presents (which I totally did as a kid and it wasn’t really worth it). I want to watch the show in its entirety, as the producers and writers intended me to. I have enough anticipation and excitement week to week to sustain me until the opening credits roll.

On the flip side, some people are so adverse to spoilers that they shriek and cry foul if they hear even the slightest hint of something about an episode they haven’t seen yet. I get it, I do, I’m that way on occasion, but why let a little bit of info ruin your viewing experience? I guess these people never read the book before seeing the movie as that is the ultimate spoiler. It’s still a good (or terrible I suppose) movie or show, despite your foreknowledge of the plot and major dramas. We all knew what was going to happen in Twilight and Harry Potter, but we still flocked to the movie theaters to see those words come to life.

For me, a spoiler isn’t a tasty appetizer to whet my whistle for a show, nor is it meal before the meal that upsets me for the main course. It’s an hors d’oeuvres on a tray that looks sort of unappetizing, so I give a soft shake of my head to the white-gloved cater waiter and wait for the lobster and champagne. What about you, do you love them or hate them?

 

2 thoughts on “Everything Else – Spoilers

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Hate spoilers… they just ruin emotional moments.

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

