Movie Lover – Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters

Leave a comment

May 6, 2013 by rachelcmann

Anyone who was expecting this movie to be even the tiniest bit realistic or serious before they bought their ticket was silly. It’s steam punk badassery and I loved it! Gemma Arterton‘s opening line is brilliant. At first I thought they’d given all the good lines and personality to her, and I was desperately hoping and waiting for Jeremy Renner (swoon) to have his moment. Initially I thought(okay, desperately wanted) him to be a bit of a ladies man and then we’d a get a naked scene with the woman they save at the beginning of the movie. But later when she all but invites him to her bed chamber he got all awkward and fumbly. [Spoiler Redacted] His personality does appear, but isn’t particularly consistent, which was disappointing.

It is gory. It is rated R. It is incredibly dark (and therefore should be watched at night). They could have skipped the language portion of their rating but I love the fact that they didn’t. I didn’t really realize how watered down some of these things were without ‘fuck’ in them. They also don’t overuse it which is a nice middle ground of realism I think is missing in a lot of films.

I actually really enjoyed it, it’s totally guilty pleasure escapism. I’m not a big fan of gore, but I just watched through my fingers in a couple of spots. I kind of want to watch it again now…

Details I loved

Hand drawn pictures of missing children tied to milk jugs

Hansel’s sickness

Jeremy’s Matrix moment

Gretel’s “paddles”

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

