TV Fan – The Voice – NBC

2

April 22, 2013 by rachelcmann

English: Adam Levine from Maroon 5 performs at...

English: Adam Levine from Maroon 5 performs at the Neighborhood Ball in downtown Washington, D.C. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t watch a lot of reality TV. It’s not that I think it’s inherently bad, or that I am against it. I think there are some really great reality shows on, and they have certainly revolutionized the genre. Reality shows seem to fall into two camps – watch someone live their life (everything on MTV, most of what’s on TLC or Discovery) and competition shows (Survivor, Dancing with the Stars). (Maybe I’ll talk more about my thoughts on this in a later post.) Personally I tend to prefer competition shows.

I make a point of watching The Voice (50% of that is to drool over Adam Levine). It’s easy to compare The Voice to the runaway train of American Idol but I’m not sure that’s an accurate comparison. Other than the fact that they’re singing shows I’m not sure they’re that similar. I enjoy the device of having the people audition blind and I think the individual attention the contestants receive from the coaches is interesting and makes for an all around better show. I could do with a little less sob story background on contestants in the beginning and I don’t love the format of the Battle Rounds but hey, it’s compelling enough to keep me coming back. I think the reason I like the show so much is that for the most part, it really comes down to talent. Where some competition shows have become popularity contests (hello high school), The Voice consistently has amazing talent reaching the endgame (exception of one girl last season who I couldn’t stand who stayed in way too long, unique does not equal good). The coaches are encouraging and genuinely want to support their artists, they are invested.

This investment is what separates The Voice from the pack. There is no nastiness from the judges, though they are critical they give feedback meant to help an artist grow. There’s good-natured ribbing among the coaches/judges, a true bro-mance between Adam Levine and Blake Shelton that could be it’s own spinoff show (and I would definitely watch that!) People who make it into the contest where the public is voting for them have already spent some time with their coaches and probably already learned more in that week or two with a professional than they ever have before. A good number of contestants are professional singers, and I think it’s great that they get another chance. All of that said, I can’t name a single winner from The Voice except last season and that’s only because it’s fresh in my mind. I can picture the winner of Season 2 but I don’t know his name. And I have no idea on Season 1, maybe they’re someone I listen to but don’t know their origin. For The Voice to continue to be a viable career option for hopeful rock stars they need to produce household names, and so far that just hasn’t happened. Maybe this is the season.

2 thoughts on “TV Fan – The Voice – NBC

  1. Dave Sherman says:

    Thanks for including my blog post in your related links!
    – Dave

  2. […] So remember when I said I don’t watch a lot of reality TV? I wasn’t lying, but So You Think You Can Dance (SYTYCD) is among my favorites.* I’ve been a fan since season 1, and although (hypothetically) singing is a similar talent, dancing is just SO MUCH MORE! Even better, some of those early contestants are back in a new capacity, choreographing pieces for the new kids on the block and I love seeing that career growth.** […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

